Funday Monday

Last week was so much fun! I really enjoy Knit and Crochet Blog week and look forward to participating next year. Thanks so much to Mimi for coordinating and hosting us all. I hope she and her little one are doing well.

CROCHET!

I feel as though I should have a bit of exciting knitting news for you all but I don’t. What I do have for you is a bit of exciting CROCHET news! Yes, I did say crochet. I finished all the knitting on my Sweet Tantalate shawl the week before last and really procrastinated on the bind off. Between the lack of yarn which I had mentioned and the fact that I haven’t really crocheted in the last 30 years all that much* I kept putting it off. This is my Loopy Academy extra credit project so I had to get it done by the end of the month or there would be no extra credit for me and I’ve always been all about the extra credit.

It took me 2 sittings a few days apart to get through the entire bind off. I felt like I was fighting with myself the entire time. The crochet hook kept knocking into the knitting needle, I dropped stitches a couple of times and my blood pressure shot through the roof, and I was sure I’d be blind by the end. The entire time I had to quiet the voice in my head that kept saying I was going to run out of yarn before the end. I was chanting in my head “Shut up, It will be fine.” Over and Over and Over…

Not too close…

And it was! As you can see there was plenty of yarn, quarter added for scale. My inner nag was wrong and I will remind her of that endlessly. I will not procrastinate on the blocking. I will block today. Must block now. I do have to hunt up about a million and one pins though since all those little crocheted chains have to be blocked out. Yes, all bazillion and twelve of them.

*I crocheted a few afghans when I was first married. I had learned a few simple crochet stitches when I was in 4th grade and then did nothing with those skills for a decade.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Funday Monday

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Wow, that was pretty close on the yarn! I would give you extra, extra credit on this project!

    Like

  2. ooof that was close with the yarn. For some reason I always knit/crochet faster when I’m running out of yarn, I think I’m trying to race it lol

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    You did good. Yay, on having enough yarn.

    Like

  4. Well done. You are good!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

