The Whole 30: Day 23

We are still holding strong. No dairy, no grain and no sugar has passed our lips. We are eating way more eggs than a human should. I may never like eggs in the same way in the future as I did 24 days ago. Grocery shopping has become a different kind of challenge. No longer am I reading every label. 90% has ingredients to be avoided. Now I spend my grocery time filling the cart full of meat and fruits and vegetables. Then I try not to be shocked when the total is $25 more than the last week.

I am still making condiments like mayonnaise and salad dressing. It is required since salad is a staple that is being eaten for lunch daily. Everyday by most of us. One of us, *cough* H *cough* has discovered Applegate hot dogs that meet the requirements so she has had those to break up the boredom she feels.

I have started making an effort to make things pretty. I’ve always been a throw it on the plate and just get it on the table kind of cook but not any more. Pretty is easy and makes people think they are getting something nicer than lettuce, again. Typical lunch with things arranged nicely in a box. See those slices of turkey, over $10 a pound. Yes, turkey. See addition $25 a week on groceries. N asked if I would make him lunches like this all the time, even when our 30 days is up. The good mother in me said yes. The bad mother wondered why he wasn’t asking for Twinkies.

Not all is doom and gloom. It is obvious that some of us have slimmed down. Pants are loose. Faces are thinner. I have even slipped a few treats in. We’ve had bacon and it was very good. It almost made the eggs tasty.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Whole 30: Day 23

  1. Ela Klein says:

    Well done, I have been trying to go wheat free and that is a challenge when comming to making the school lunches.

    Like

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Very impressive! Congratulations! That is quite an accomplishment. Hard enough to do it for yourself, but also for 3 other people! You should all be very proud of yourselves and knowing that you are on a healthier path makes it even better. Your salads look delicious (and pretty!).

    Have you ever tried daikon radish (long white veg)?? We like that in our salads – a nice crunchy texture, but not overpowering taste-wise. We also like grated red cabbage, and grated carrots (because I’m not a big raw carrot fan!). Calareso’s sells bags of Mesculin mix (all sorts of different greens) that we add to our salads. And another favorite are the artisan lettuces sold in a clear, square plastic box – 4 different little heads of lettuce – yum (at Market Basket near the iceberg lettuce, usually). Our lettuce garden is in full swing now and that adds lots of color and interest to our salads too.

    For dressing, we mainly use balsamic vinegars (white is my favorite – not as strong as the dark kind) with just the tiniest amount of olive oil (less than a tsp for the two of us). And J has made some flavored vinegars that are really good (also used with just a hint of olive oil). So many things to try!

    Keep up the great work! I’m curious to know what the next 30 days will bring to your plates.

    Like

  3. Kepanie says:

    Damn girl, you bad a**.

    Like

  4. ellen says:

    Wow. I’m so impressed! Your salad makes me want to eat a salad. I eat them, but perhaps not with the zeal I should. My husband and son have been making a Dijon vinaigrette lately and it’s good as a dip for cucumbers and blanched green beans 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

