Tasty

Over the weekend I wanted to make something and decided to give my mother’s Irish Soda Bread recipe a try. Normally my mother will make a loaf and send most of it over to us. The recipe is very easy but not like anything I’ve made before.

  • 4c. flour
  • 4tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2c. sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1tsp. caraway seeds or a bit more
  • 1c. raisins, or a bit more or less
  • 2TBSP. butter
  • 1 1/2c. milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a round cake pan. Sift dry ingredients together. Cut in butter. Add caraway seed, raisins and milk. Stir just until a loose mixture forms. Turn onto lightly floured counter and knead until it just comes together. Form into ball and roll the ball in beaten egg. Allow excess egg to drip away and then place into pan. Bake for about an hour.

I like to eat it warm from the oven with butter but it is equally as tasty the next day toasted.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tasty

  1. Kepanie says:

    OMFish this looks so good! You’re a pro bread baker.

    Like

  2. Ruth says:

    Love a white soda cake, my gran for a treat would make us one. They are traditionally brown and so gorgeous. The brown kind is what I make and eat all the time.

    Like

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That looks amazing! The bakery better watch out, you could take over their bread business! 🙂

    Like

  4. caityrosey says:

    Love, love, LOVE hot Irish soda bread. Looks so tasty.

    Like

  5. Yum!! I wish we had smells through the computer – I am sure that would have all our stomachs rumbling.

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    That looks really good! I bet it would be amazing warm!

    Like

  7. Chris says:

    It was funny bookmarking your knitting blog under my recipe tab. LOL! Going to try without the seeds and raisins.

    Like

  8. Pat(ricia) says:

    I’m salivating! It looks so good …. sometimes it’s the simplest of recipes that provide the best bite!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.