A Deep Dark Confession

I have been carrying a burden that I must confess. I don’t knit toe up socks. That isn’t the entire thing. I don’t knit toe up socks because I hate the methods of starting the toe that I have been exposed to. I have knit a couple of pair but the fiddliness of the cast on has turned me against them and this caused me to disregard all toe up patterns, even when I really liked the finished socks.

Yesterday in the course of my usual blog reading I happened on this post at Yarn Miracle. It was as if a light bulb went on over my head. I can use Emily’s Favorite Trick to start my socks! I can cast on whatever number of stitches I usually like for the toe and move on from there.

The process is easy and straight forward. I think I would pick a different cast on than my usual long tail but that is a minor change.

Next I plan to try the Middle Eastern cast on. I feel as though a whole new world has opened up and that toe up dread is gone.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in knits. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Deep Dark Confession

  1. Marilyn says:

    I’m not a toe up knitter for much the same reason but these cast-ons look really interesting! Thanks for the tip! 🙂

    Like

  2. Julie says:

    Toe up socks are not my favorite either but test knitting for Sock Madness has given me enough experience that at least I *will* do it now. Somewhere I ran across a flat and turn heel that works with toe up which makes me really happy as I absolutely cannot stand doing wrap and turn, never works for me, nor have I come across any other sort of toe up heel that fits me well. Hope your socks turn out beautifully!

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    I’m a top down dpn sock knitter too and the thought of changing makes my head spin. Maybe someday though! Thx for sharing these.

    Like

  4. Kepanie says:

    I have yet to knit a sock and will probably try out top down ones. Good for you on finding inspiration for toe up socks and trying it.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.