Sock It To Me Monday: Heels Edition

Things have been moving along on the socks. I completed the first Double Heelix sock on Friday night and finished the second heel on Sunday night.

The second heel was easier than the first. It took me a mere two tries to get it as you see it. The first heel took about 5 times.

As you might be able to tell if you’ve been following along, I am going to reverse the colors so the leg on the second sock will be the dark purple and the foot will be the light. It seems to be a bit of a theme with me lately.

Today I thought I’d share a fun tour with you. The Smithsonian in Washington DC has free online tours of their exhibits. I visited there as a child and have always hoped to go back one day. This will do for now.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, loopy grad school, sock it to me monday, Socks, The Loopy Ewe, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sock It To Me Monday: Heels Edition

  1. sthnxstitch says:

    They are very effective aren’t they. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those socks are so cute, I love all shades of purple. Thanks for the link, I will have a wander round later 😀. I’ve not been to Washington DC yet, but one day …especially as one of the twins I au paired for lives in Virginia now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So cool, I like that you are reversing the colours 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Olivia says:

    The grout happens today which is good as the plastic is looking a bit saggy. That means I’ll have use of my kitchen sink and fridge & laundry again by tomorrow. My husband hasn’t taken the idea that we don’t have access to washing seriously and has piled it waist high. I believe he thinks women enjoy cleaning up after men. Meanwhile I’ve ordered more yarn from the U.K. for a sweater for myself, a Henley type in a bright orchid color. The days the sun shines I feel hopeful, the cloudy, rainy days not so much. Happily the puppies love their walks, rain or shine.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. chrisknits says:

    Yay for socks getting made! And I would love that blueberry sour cream mix!!! Anything blueberry really.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyreeves says:

    Reversed colors will be so fun, and hurrah for a much quicker second heel!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very cool progress on the socks! The alternating colors for the feet and legs will look neat – you are having fun with these 🙂
    Thank you for sharing the Smithsonian link – I love that place! I’ve gotten there a couple times over the years, but there’s so much to see. That could be a week’s vacation by itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ReginaMary says:

    Did the heel take multiple tries because of technique, or because you wanted the yarn colors to be a certain way. They look fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. cattknithat says:

    Beautiful as always! If I lived around you, I would probably be dropping hints about how I’ve never gotten handmade socks for Christmas or something.

    Like

  10. I’ve never tried that type of heel. Will have to look it up. Love the colors

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Stefanie says:

    These heels are extraordinary! Love seeing them; they remind me of the Cheshire cat in the Alice of Wonderland cartoon.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. That is going to be the fabbest pair of socks ever!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.