Vacationland

Look! A Whale! He (or she) was guarding the walkway to our room. Our neighbors never left their room (every time we walked by there were fresh empty room service trays). I’m sure they were afraid of the whale. 


There was very little knitting while away. I knit a bit in the car and since it was chilly we turned on the fireplace and I knit while The Husband watched tv the first night. The show was Deadliest Catch. Perfect viewing for oceanside. 


Wednesday morning us and a million other people headed to Acadia National Park. The views are spectacular. 


I kept forgetting to take photos. We had lunch at the Jordan Pond Restaurant. The Husband had a lobster roll of course. N and I had sandwiches. We all had popovers. 


We now know there is in fact a view from the top of Cadillac Mountain. Last time we were there it was nothing but fog. 


We spent many many hours driving and walking. It was a beautiful sunny day. 

That night we had yummy pizza for dinner and then we walked around the shops. Finally we were all too tired to do anything else so we went back to the hotel for bed. 


Morning came very early on Thursday. We packed up our stuff and headed home vowing we’d be back. The Husband said he is now spoiled and wants to stay there every time.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vacationland

  1. chrisknits says:

    I have photos in almost the same exact spots!!! Did you stop at the beach? Any lighthouses? Now I want to go back even more!!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kmkat says:

    Re: fog. Back in about 1982 my boss and I had a drink at the top of the World Trade Center in NYC. It was foggy, much like being in an airplane in the clouds. Occasionally there would be a rift in the clouds and we could see the lights of the city.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing your lovely vacation pics – so neat to see other places!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kathyreeves says:

    How beautiful Maine is! Thanks for sharing your trip with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    It looks like you had perfect weather while you were there! The photos are gorgeous, and as someone else mentioned, makes me want to head up there right now! The view from your room and deck is amazing and looks like you were staying on a boat. I love the little bench that’s under the whale (and the whale provides a little shade and shelter – did you sit on that bench? You know me, always looking for the next place to sit and rest! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. salpal1 says:

    oh, now the next time you come to Maine, PLEASE let me know – we could have had a visit and knit a row or two. I live in Hancock County (home of Acadia) though not too near the island, I can get there in an hour or so. Or we could meet up when you are coming off the island or heading down, you had a 50 50 chance of driving past the end of my road, depending on which way you came. I’d love to meet you for real sometime. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

