Maine: The Way My Life Isn’t 

On Tuesday we got in the car wicked early (not really, it was 7:15) to drop H at the subway and head north. I neglected to make sure that H had her house keys and she wouldn’t answer my repeated exclamation point filled texts so we returned home to find her house keys sitting on the kitchen counter. Typical. She finally answered my text and we made arrangements for her to pickup her keys from a neighbor. Finally at 8 we were on 95 barreling towards Maine. 

Our first stop was the rest area in Kennebunk for a quick breakfast (God Bless Starbucks!) and then back on the road. This was N’s first time traveling so far north in Maine. He asked a couple of times if we were almost there. The Husband and I just laughed. N has a low tolerance for long car rides. He fell asleep and we left him until we reached Newport. When we lived in Limestone ME Newport was half way between what is now home and what was then home. Many times we met my parents there so H and I could go visit them and The Husband could return to the base. We told N this story and he said there was no way he could spend that long in the car. Little did he know that Wednesday was coming. 


We finally arrived on Mt Desert Island where The Husband was rewarded. He enjoyed every bite. I neglected to take a photo of my grilled cheese sandwich-yeah, fish isn’t my thing. I only took this photo to tease H. 


Then we arrived at our hotel where I learned that making reservations online can be surprising. I accidentally booked a suite in the boathouse. Damn it was nice! But more about that and the rest of our trip tomorrow. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Maine: The Way My Life Isn’t 

  1. tonymarkp says:

    Have fun! Your dislike of fish and seafood will certainly save you money on lunch and dinner!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathyreeves says:

    This sounds like a great adventure. I’ve never been to Maine, so I am ready to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    A vacation wouldn’t be a real vacation without a little pre-departure drama! 🙂 I’m with you on the seafood thing and would have been eating the grilled cheese too (plus fries of course!). And whatever you do, don’t take N on a cross-country road trip – ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Forgot to say that I’m eagerly awaiting the next vacation installment (a suite in the boathouse? Wow!).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. chrisknits says:

    Oh how I envy you!! Our Maine trip was 4 years ago and I want to go back so bad!!! Can’t wait to see what fun you had!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Next time I highly suggest you stay where we did. It was amazing, expensive, but totally amazing! The boathouse had 4 suites and on the roof there was a deck separated into 4 sections each with outdoor furniture and a hot tub.

      Like

  6. Laura says:

    Limestone AFB brought me to Maine in 1992! We were there the last 2 years is was open. It was culture shock for this city girl! Must have been love though, as we never left Maine : ) Now living in the Bangor area. Maine is glorious in the summertime, just have to make it through those loooong winters! Lots of knitting helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. salpal1 says:

    lol now that I read this, (I am scrolling down through the posts, not up, so I am in reverse order) I can tell you that you did NOT pass the end of my road, but if you went out on Rte 3 toward Augusta, you did. 🙂 One way is shorter, the other is faster, depending on traffic.

    I am glad you went the other way, though, so that I am sure you are NOT one of the cars I was cursing as tourists “from away” clogged Route 1 in my town making left turns impossible, and right turns nearly so. 🙂

    If I knew you were coming, I would not have cursed them at all, in case I accidentally cursed you. 🙂

    Suite in the boat shed? Sounds perfectly wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We were the tourists on Rt 95 and later Rt 1 looking for both wild blueberries to buy and interesting places to stop. We found both. We stopped at the Maine State Prison Store where we met the warden. He and my husband had a lengthy chat about their similar military service and how beneficial the store is for the inmates. It was very interesting:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • salpal1 says:

        That store is pretty amazing. We have a couple of pieces of furniture from there.

        Glad you found blueberries and places to stop! Hard to not find blueberries this time of year! You came at the right time. 🙂

        I live near Bucksport, and the past couple of weekends have been hideous, traffic-wise. A steady stream in both directions, especially on Fridays and Saturdays. The price I pay for living in such a pretty place. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Mr Knitter says:

    The food looks so nice, I love lobster.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

