Gray On Gray

So I started Dayton the other day. It was a rocky start. The sweater looks like a typical straight forward pullover but the pattern is a bit involved. And it makes me feel stupid. 

It starts easy enough with casting on and some neck details, then a simple buttonhole and once those are done it’s short row time. That is when I either lost my ability to read or count or maybe both. I knit, I tinked, I knit and tinked again. Then I reread all the helpful hints on Ravelry and that is when I read some comments about how there is interpretation required and that it isn’t as straight forward as you’d think. So I knit again and fudged the stitches so they mostly match the correct counts. I’ll try to add the one I’m missing if I can somewhere along the way. 

So as to not be a total downer, I still love the Cascade 220 and this is a great gray! 

I hope your fiber pursuits are going better than mine. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, Camploopy2017, Knits, Knitting, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gray On Gray

  1. AJ says:

    Lol I am so glad to hear someone else occasionally has this feeling! I’ve been knitting for thirty plus years and there are just some patterns that make me feel so stupid! Keep going as it looks really cute:)

    Liked by 5 people

  2. jo creates says:

    I’m knitting a cardigan like that too! knit a few stitches, read pattern. read again, check work they either tink or carry on and fudge! somehow I got a a row that was supposed to be knit…. but I was on purl side…. gave up, broke yarn and started at the other end! hahaha 😂 I love cascade 220 too. did I cardigan in that last year. lovely colour you have there. what is it called?

    Like

  3. Hang in there! That is a great gray 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. salpal1 says:

    It’s a great color! I really hate patterns like that, Why don’t the test knitters let the designer know what is not making sense???

    Liked by 1 person

  5. chrisknits says:

    Sometimes patterns just don’t spell it out like we need. Think back to how pithy patterns used to be! But then they didn’t use some of the new techniques that we have now. Use this banana cake recipe for the cream cheese frosting!! http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/banana_sheet_cake/
    And this for your blueberries http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/blueberry-hand-pies-recipe

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had a day like this on Sunday – and from the responses to that post I learned that we all go through this at times 🤓 plus I’ve had patterns that absolutely made no sense, the stitch numbers were wrong etc. So it’s probably not even your fault 😊
    It’s a great color 💜 I’d probably be looking for a different pattern 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Short rows still mystify me; my challenge today was having to match my stripes whilst sewing in the sleeves on my sweater. Ripping yarn seams is NOT a good time, but it is now finished!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh, that’s sooo frustrating! I hope you got through it and are back on track now.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Olivia says:

    I don’t know a project I haven’t taken out ( at least once or twice) or had to redo the instructions to make it work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

