Disappointing 

I know the photograph isn’t great but that’s really all you need to see for this sad tale. 

A few months ago I pinned a recipe on Pinterest for a Gingerbread loaf. It was frosted with cream cheese frosting. I imagined that it would be a delicious moist loaf sort of like banana bread but gingerbread. I finally got around to adding the couple of ingredients I don’t normally have on hand to the grocery list and picked them up this week. 

I should have looked at the comments and read a few more recipes before I jumped in with both feet. The loaf was ok but looked nothing like the photo on the blog where the recipe is located. I could see in the photo that it would have a small dip at the center, probably because of the lack of baking powder. But the color was wrong, it’s really light. It’s not super moist as it appears. My guess is the photo isn’t even a loaf made from the recipe. I didn’t bother making the frosting. We’ll eat the ok loaf as it is and I’ll find a different recipe to use the cream cheese frosting. Disappointing!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disappointing 

  1. jo creates says:

    sad times! 😔 I love ginger cake! I’ve tried this one and it’s nice… http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/ginger_and_treacle_60494

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathyreeves says:

    Bummer! But at least you saved the frosting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes that happens. It merely encourages us to find something better. Yes, better you dont do the frosting, keep it for the next one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    It looks like it tasted good, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Olivia says:

    Ok, I have to weigh in here. Gingerbread is delicious and a love of my children. Here’s what to do. Only use Grandmas molasses and once cooked, serve warn. Split in the middle (each piece) and fill with warm applesauce. Garnish with whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon. You will never eat anything else! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.