Sunday Dinner

When I was growing up we always had a “fancy” dinner mid Sunday afternoon. Normally it was some sort of roast with mashed potatoes, gravy and two vegetables. It really wasn’t much different from any other nights dinner-except for that extra vegetable.


Yesterday we had our Sunday mid afternoon dinner at Woodman’s in Essex. For a Sunday in July it wasn’t crowded at all. The Husband and I split the “down river” plate which consisted of clams, scallops, fish and shrimp. H & N split a baby shrimp plate. Everything was delicious. I guess the French fries and onion rings were the two vegetables. 

If you find yourself hungry in Essex be sure to stop at Woodman’s. They say that is where the fried clam was invented and they really do them well. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday Dinner

  1. salpal1 says:

    that looks yummy, and I don’t even like clams, lol. I like shrimp, though. and of course, French fries and onion rings.

    My grandmother used to do Sunday dinner, it seemed like a lot of work, but I think she got away with only making two meals that day instead of three, so for her it was a treat. When I was a teenager, my stepmother declared Sundays were “cook’s day off” and we all had to fend for ourselves. I didn’t enjoy it, but I did learn to make a few meals, lol. She got clear of three meals that way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chrisknits says:

    It’s only 3 days since we left Florida and I want to go back! Well, I really just want the fresh seafood readily at hand. A girl has to have her priorities! And crab legs and shrimp seem like great ones to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tonymarkp says:

    I love that place! If you ever head north to Maine be sure to try Bob’s Clam Hut in Kittery. It has a similar menu and it’s delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Those onion rings look amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Looks delicious 🙂 And you’re right….potatoes and onions are a part of the vegetable family 😏

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyreeves says:

    Yummy! We still have a fairly traditional Sunday dinner, but no supper, which is usually great!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. KerryCan says:

    This looks like my kind of restaurant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

