FO On Saturday

The Dream Stripes shawl is done and finally blocked. The more things I knit the more obvious to me it is that I am a process knitter. I don’t care much about the blocking and wearing, I’m all about the knitting.*

The pattern is Dream Stripes Shawl by Berangere Cailliau. The yarn is Berroco Ultra Alpaca fine in salt and pepper and redwood mix. I changed the pattern based on suggestions on Ravelry. I moved the increases to the front and changed the stitches.  I’ll add some notes to my project page on Ravelry if I can figure out what I did with them. The yarn is just a wee bit scratchy and the red let go of a ton of dye when blocking. Other than that it was a pleasure to knit with and the gray and red make lovely contrasting stripes. In the end I’m glad I ended up with the red stripe around the end. It pulls the whole thing together. 

*Except for socks. I love wearing freshly knit socks!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in FO, Knits, Knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to FO On Saturday

  1. planetcoops says:

    That looks lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chrisknits says:

    Gorgeous!!!! And I do like the red edge, makes it pop. Hey, just send those knits to me!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stefanie says:

    I like that edging which is a dramatic touch to the stripes. Wonderful FO, Karen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That got beautiful! The red stripe around the very edge definitely pulls it together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mr Knitter says:

    Same here, I am definitely a process knitter, except for socks, which I do wear. I will have to check out your Ravelry. I love the shawl, and the colours are sublime.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tonymarkp says:

    That is amazing! I’m so happy for you it’s done. There were some trying times with this project. You conquered!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. AJ says:

    It’s gorgeous! I love the grey edge and then the red:)
    I like the knitting and the wearing, but the blocking drives me nuts, as well as seaming which explains why I do so many objects in the round!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jo creates says:

    that is so beautiful! love the colours!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. gorgeous! I love the deep, rich red!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kim says:

    That looks beautiful!
    I had never considered what sort of knitter I was but on reflection I am also a process knitter. I love New knitted garments (particularly socks!) But knit more than I actually need.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I am just revisiting this post for shawl ideas. All I can say is *wow,* Karen! The lace trim is incredible. Certainly a shawl to dream about! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Olivia says:

    After seeing how you blocked your Shawl I can see that I blocked mine incorrectly and may revise the blocking and start over to get better points on my Grape Crush Shawl. I actually was trying to make the project spread out more because the finish size was much smaller than the pattern said it would be, as attested to by the comments on the kit (which unfortunately I read after I finish the project). Rookie mistakes .

    Liked by 1 person

  13. It is stunning, and I love the grey. 🙂 Wow!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. YarnyDragonfly says:

    It’s gorgeous! The red edging really makes the whole thing – it’s perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Emma says:

    It’s beautiful! I haven’t knitted anything big in a while, I want to make a jumper but maybe I should start with a shawl 😁 any good pattern to recommend?

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Beautiful! Shawls and socks are my favorites!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

