Fun!

I was looking through the photos on my phone and found the one above. It reminded me how I smiled when I spotted this at a nearby library. It also reminded me that I want to knit a yarn bomb. I wish I had noticed how they attached it. I’ll have to swing by when I’m in the area and see if it’s still there. And more importantly figure out they attached it. Does anyone know what would be best?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fun!

  1. chrisknits says:

    It was likely sewed on, is the seaming invisible? Mattress stitch, whip stitch, other seaming methods would work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mr Knitter says:

    When my friends yarn-bombed a whole street in town, being clever buggers, they crochet the seams making it almost invisible.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyreeves says:

    It looks like there might be some hand stitches there in the middle. A fun, mischievous project!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. claire93 says:

    I Wonder if the librarian knows it’s there lol.
    In our village, several of the trees are wearing knitted sweaters on their trunks. I thinkg they’re whipstitched on.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tonymarkp says:

    With yarnbombing, anything goes. I’ve seen it in action (my very own hands doing some of the attaching). Whatever quick and dirty way you can attach the piece to the thing you’re bombing is good enough.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. elpalchica says:

    Did you see our local theatre is doing a play about yarn bombing? The Lucky Cat is helping.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I did my first “personal” yarn bomb last month, wrapped the sign post on the street corner. I’d knit the segments together in what was basically a long scarf, the i stitched it onto the pole. I had to stretch it to fit so it was snug enough to stay in place. You can see it on my blog. Click the yarn bomb tag to see the fun public yarn bomb of a bike rack I did with some girls from a local after-school program. Such fun!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I’m in – let’s do it! Now all we need to do is find the right place…..

    Liked by 1 person

  9. There are lots of attachment methods. You should try it – it’s fun being a tiny bit mischievous!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You can sew them on, but you can also use cable ties, they have the advantage of being fast if you’re doing “yarn graffiti”. You can use velcro, but I wouldn’t, people tend to knick stuff. You can even just use duct tape.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

