On Capturing Color

Let me start by saying I am a horrible photographer. I like to blame being rushed on why my photos stink but really I am lousy at getting everything composed correctly in the right light. Add to that that I use my iPhone for my photos. So when I see the opportunity to catch the right colors I grab it. 

N is doing lacrosse clinic this week. When I was waiting at pick up I noticed how fabulous the colors of the yarn I’m knitting looked and I grabbed my phone so I could show you. This is the Into The Whirled Pakokku Sock in Stanley Stegosaurus that I’m using to knit Trillian. And if you look back at the previous photos you’ll see the yarn looks nothing like what I’ve got above. I told you I stink at photography. 


I have one more photo to share with you. I wish I could share this ginger molasses cookie I got at the Berkshire Mountain Bakery with you. It was delicious. I ate every bite. It was chewy and flavorful with just a hint of sweetness. A perfect cookie, but sadly now gone. I should have bought two. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in food, Guilty Pleasures, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Capturing Color

  1. I so understand the photography thing. My son tells me how bad my photos are. But it’s a lot of work to get the right lighting and the right background, and the right setting, and to notice that there’s a bit that I could have laid flat, but it’s crumpled instead….. LOL!
    But I can see the color of the yarn, and it’s a great colorway! That cookie? It looks delicious ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 says:

    Sometimes it is hard to get the colors right, especially with the phone! But the knitting looks great, and the cookie – fabulous photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chrisknits says:

    But then, if you ate two, you would have decided you should have bought 3, and from there the cookie crumbles.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mr Knitter says:

    Love the colours in the yarn, but the cookie looked divine.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Stefanie says:

    The cookie looks yummy. The colorway is fun. You can always take a photo from a different angle. There is also the one-thirds rule which would take way too long to explain here; Google will help.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I so understand the photo thing! In mine the colors are never, ever the way they are in real life 😏 And the photo editor can only do so much. But these two pictures are perfect! 😃 The knitting looks great…and I feel like I could a bite out of that cookie 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I love the mix of colors in that yarn. And you’re killing me with the bakery photos! 🙂 That cookie looks perfect. I’m really ready for a road trip….

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kim says:

    My blog posts are always delayed whilst I try to get acceptable pictures.
    Stanley Stegosaurus looks a great colour, and I can see why you wouldn’t want to share that cookie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

