The Stuff You See

I pick H up at the suburban subway station every afternoon. There are always things to see. Friday night there must have been a concert because there were hordes of giggling teenage girls being dropped off while I was waiting. Yesterday these nearly new men’s dress shoes, a pair!, were sitting in an empty parking space. Why? Were they so uncomfortable that they had to be dumped? Sadly I’ll never know. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Stuff You See

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That would make an interesting short story – The Tale of the Abandoned Shoes. You never know what you will see. And you are very observant!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sometimes we have to scratch your heads about things we see around us. 😜 Two years ago I was a helper at a Festival in town…the next day we found a- as in one!- cowboy boot. 😳 Two years later and we still have it. πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chrisknits says:

    Definitely a question. I am thinking left them on top of car, drove off and forgot about them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie says:

    It’s weird what can be lost. Happens at the schools too. I shake my head at the many sweatshirts and even lunchboxes sitting in lost and found.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kathyreeves says:

    Did you check the size?! We are always amazed and what we see/find in the oddest places!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim says:

    Very puzzling.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Olivia says:

    I drive back-and-forth from Boston to Miami quite often and there are many times when I’m stuck in traffic and see strange things on the side of the road. My daughter and I, who often travels with me, decided to count the times we’ve seen mattresses on the side of the road, mangled beyond repair or any use to anyone. There has not been a time when I’ve driven that trip that I have not seen a notice of some sort or part there of. But the best one was under the myriad overpasses that crossed I95 once you have cleared the George Washington Bridge. It too was mangled beyond recognition and leaned up against one of the supports of the overpass, next to five lanes of traffic (including house sized semis) in a space about a foot and a half wide. We call it the mattress game.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Olivia says:

    Sorry, auto correct changed MATTRESS to NOTICE

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

