Planning

As I sit here not knitting my July Camp Loopy project (there’s plenty of time right?) I’m thinking about my August project. I have no idea what the requirement will be other than the usual more than 800 yards. This stresses me because that’s a lot of yarn to knit in a month. My blood pressure is going up just writing this. So here are a couple of patterns and my concerns. 

  • Linnea Tunic: Damn I love this but I really don’t think it works for my body: I’m short and have an, um, ample chest. 
  • Nutkin: Same issue as above but mainly with the chest. I think I’d skip the pockets too because added fabric at my belly would be a mistake. 
  • Antler Cardigan: It’s been in my queue for ages and I always like a cardigan.
  • V-neck Seamless Tunic: I think this vest would work for my body. It’s cute and would be perfect for fall. 

I really want to knit something that I like that actually fits. My main requirement is that it’s done in worsted weight yarn. What do you think? Do you have a suggestion? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, Camploopy2017, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Planning

  1. Alyssa says:

    Have you considered The Boxy sweater? It should be good for many different body types and there is a worsted weight version! I hope to do this sometime soon for myself. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/worsted-boxy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I think you should go for the Antler Cardigan! Or, I also like the V-Neck Seamless Tunic. That is a lot of knitting for one month – yikes! I thought summer camp was supposed to be fun and carefree. But, it’s a great way to challenge yourself and I know you are up to the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also really like the Antler Cardigan. The Linnea Tunic and Nutkin look very nice, but I have the same body challenge as you and I’m not sure either would be flattering to wear. The V-neck vest looks very nice though. That really is a lot to knit in one month!! Good Luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. salpal1 says:

    Antler has been on my radar if not in my queue for a long time. And it might hold your interest more than plain stockinette…

    I had a suggestions all ready for you until you said worster weight, lol. I have a similar body shape, from the sound of it, and I am knitting http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/galiano-vest – a cardigan vest with some lace interest at the hem, and some eyelet at the vee neckline. I think it is going to do the trick on me, and it might work for you as well. My project page is here: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/salpal1/galiano-vest but the photos are not that helpful yet – just divided for the armholes recently, and my yarn is busy, but trust me, in person it is quite nice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. salpal1 says:

    Odd.. I just wrote a whole comment, but it seems to have disappeared!

    Anyway – until you said worsted, I was going to suggest this pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/galiano-vest

    which I am knitting and enjoying. Project here: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/salpal1/galiano-vest

    But I have long thought about Antler, so that would be my vote of the ones you showed – it will keep your interest more than stockinette, won’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyreeves says:

    I like the antler and the v neck best. My go to patterns is always a front button cardigan, though my patterns are all DK yarn. They can be buttoned or open and were always the less formal equivalent of a blazer…great with pants, jeans or skirts.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh I Love that sleeveless tunic. VERY lovely. GOOD luck. Let the blood pressure go back to normal! enjoy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. chrisknits says:

    Antler!! I love Antler. But your link takes one to the 2nd link again.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Stefanie says:

    A cardigan will work for any body shape. I think you can also knit the Nutkin but just make sure you swatch well first.

    Like

  10. All cute choices 🙂 But I have what I think is probably the same body type as you, and I would definitely go for the V neck vest. It will be flattering and also a great layering piece. Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I really liked Nutkin and the vertical line is appealing to me. It’s a lot of knitting but Antler’s cables would be slower.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

