Look Who’s Sleeping In The Refrigerator*

We went to the coop yesterday to buy some dog food and dog treats. When I got to the counter to pay they had these little garden helpers waiting to go to their new homes. I had just noticed that morning that something is nibbling on the leaves of the green beans and the broccoli. I hope our new friends will stick around the garden and help out with the little pests. 

*The instructions say to place them in the refrigerator until evening and then after watering the garden let some go in the garden. They won’t fly after dark but will have a drink and settle in to eat the pests. You’re supposed to repeat this over a few nights. I sure hope they don’t get loose in the refrigerator in the meantime! 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in garden, plant, Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Look Who’s Sleeping In The Refrigerator*

  1. I have lady bugs like crazy eating the aphids on my roses. Hope yours do a good job too. 🐞

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YarnyDragonfly says:

    What a cool idea! Hope it works. And hope no one accidentally grabs the lady bug container when raiding the fridge for a midnight snack! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. kathyreeves says:

    Lady bugs are amazing! If the bugs are too big for them, diatomaceous earth might work too. I thought it only works on slugs, but it works for many bugs and is just a certain kind of rock.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I once found a praying mantis cocoon to place in the garden, too. They eat everything! Unfortunately, they also eat ladybugs when they come across one. But it’s a second line of defense.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tango Trio says:

    That is really amazing that they can live in the fridge. I would have never thought

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Emma says:

    I’ve never actually seen that it’s so cool! I love ladybugs and they are meant to be great for eating aphids 🙂 I hope it works for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That is amazing, who would have thought. I hope you had them around for a while, and some are still visiting with you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

