When You Turn Into Your Mother

Things aren’t going great with the shawl. I’m currently tinking back three rows. Instead of whining about that I think I’ll tell a story. 

The Husband works slightly unusual hours. They aren’t exactly second shift, more of a hybrid. By the time he gets home, gives us each a moment of his time and has dinner I’m thinking about heading to bed. Normally this wouldn’t be an issue now that it’s summer but H is working in the city so I’ve been driving her to the subway in the morning. That requires me to wake up by 6:30. The Husband stays up watching TV at night since he can sleep in until 9:30 if he wants. His watching TV keeps me awake. It isn’t so much the light or the sound. It’s just the knowing that everything isn’t all settled for the night. By way of distraction I’ve been listening to podcasts before I fall asleep. The earbuds block any sound coming from the TV and my brain is distracted enough to relax and let me get drowsy. Last night when I was listening it suddenly dawned on me that my mother (and grandmother) did the same sort thing though for different reasons. They both listened to the radio every night. So now I know for sure that I have turned into my mother. At least my iPod won’t make the same loud crash when it hits the floor at 3:00AM. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When You Turn Into Your Mother

  1. Turning into my mother is one of my greatest fears. She was not a nice person. My grandmother, on the other hand, was a bit ornery, but she taught me a great deal. I am still mystified that those two were related.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chrisknits says:

    I always listened to music as I fell asleep. Unyil I narried Hubster. He can’t sleep with ANY noise or light. Gah!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. iceddee says:

    I might invest in an I pod I have so much trouble getting to sleep it’s unreal. I don’t think my brain knows about the off switch.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hahah They are wise long before we know it, those mothers of ours!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kathyreeves says:

    That is a moment, to realize you have exactly the same something as your mom!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I used to need a radio on very low volume, all night, to sleep. Now, I’m the complete opposite and must have total silence to sleep. My mom sleeps with the TV going all night – I don’t know how she does it. When I visit her, I sometimes have to sneak into her room when she’s asleep and turn down the volume on the TV because it’s keeping me awake!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Terri DuLong says:

    I’m smiling because I have to have total quiet and darkness. But as a teen, I always fell asleep to that radio. The iPod with earbuds is a good idea for the few nights I can’t fall right off though.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I do the same thing but that’s because hubby requires a fan and I can’t stand the noise of a fan/ac/fridge anything with a motor. Pandora also has some nice play lists for sleeping too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

