Where Things Don’t Go As Expected

Did you have a good Sunday? Mine was chugging along just fine. There was cleaning, laundry, shopping, lunch out and ice cream after dinner. I had expected to sit down and finish up the Twizzler socks. I completed the toe on the second sock and dug out the scale to see how much yarn I’d used. I was sure I’d used plenty. 400 yards is required for the June project. Even though I’d added length to the leg and did a shade deeper heel, I was short yardage. I reweighed the socks. Still the same. I then toyed with the idea, as foolish as it was, of adding a ruffle or frill as I was calling it at the bottom of the cuff. When my sanity returned I ripped out the foot and weighed the leg. So now I’m adding a couple more inches to the leg. It solves the problem. I’ve made peace with it. There will be socks finished eventually. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, Camploopy2017, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, Socks, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Where Things Don’t Go As Expected

  1. Katherine says:

    I absolutely hate when this happens. I’m always afraid of using too much yarn on the first sock (especially with top down), get gun-shy, and end up with too-short socks and tons of yarn left over.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Olivia says:

    I always save your blog to read last so I can read every single post of the week. It’s entertaining, enlightening, amusing, and just downright enjoyable. You are one of the most dedicated knitters I’ve ever encountered, willing to rip out to get it right. I do the same. I don’t think I’ve ever made anything without ripping it out to her three times before I actually get going on it. I can’t stand the thought of working on an entire project only to realize something went wrong in the beginning. I guess that’s how I run my life. Measure twice cut once. 📏📏✂️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. elpalchica says:

    Is one sock going to be long, one short? I sure hope so! I can see many practical applications. Especially as a cycling sock, with long sock on the chain side so you can tuck in your pants better.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do enjoy the yarn of these socks. They are really cheerful and happy. And I know you will finish both, and they will be even prettier when worn. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. salpal1 says:

    they are such pretty socks, I see why you want to get them right! (And if you think this could happen to you again in the future, how about knitting toe up socks? Then you only have to rip out the ribbing… )

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyreeves says:

    I’m having one of those with my coat at the moment, but ripping is not an option 😡. On the bright side, MIL’s shawl is pinned on the bed after I blocked and steamed it, so I’ll wrap it and write a card and letter and send it off tomorrow. It is unfortunate about the socks, but at least you can knit that happy yarn for another day or two!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Stefanie says:

    400 yards is quite a lot for socks. I usually have a lot leftover after a pair of socks when there’s over 400 yards in the skein. Glad you figured out how to reach the requirement.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tonymarkp says:

    I recently ran out of sock yarn for a pair, too! I wonder if it’s some kind of blog virus that goes around?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh, no! At least you have a plan in place and you’ll be finished (again) in no time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

