Opening

There are only three flowers on the peonies this year and this one has opened the most. I’m sure the plant needs something I’m not giving it but I have no idea what. As you can see the leaves are full and lush. Looking back through the blog I can find only one photo showing the entire plant and that year had six flowers but the leaves look less full. Do you have peonies? How are they doing? Do you have any suggestions for increasing the flowers in the future?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in garden, plant, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Opening

  1. I don’t grow peonies — nor really any other flower really — but this one is beautiful. Folks with green thumbs will have to chime in with ideas for why you’ve got fewer blossoms this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shellssells says:

    How old is the peony? If it’s pretty young, I’d just imagine that it may need a few years to establish. Is there something new that is blocking its sun? At least around here, they really do best in full sun. And, then the final thought would be how early are you cutting back the greenery after they bloom? I’ve been chastised in the past for cutting back too early and not giving the plant enough time to store what it needs for the winter.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ve had peonies about 40 years. I found them in the yard of a very old house. They may be a hundred years old, too. I’ve moved them at least four times and each time they have been very happy. They love sun and a little plant food. I don’t cut them back until after the first frost.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ReginaMary says:

    I have 3 blooms on mine as well. I think we are in the same general area and we have had cold weather and a lot of rain. I would venture to guess that is an underlying cause. Flowering plants need plenty of sun to set up buds. The hearty foliage is most likely due to the abundant rain. None the less, one peony is enough to brighten any table!! 🏵

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kathyreeves says:

    The only thing I know about peonies is that I want them, in lightest pink, your rose and that really dark maroon!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I dont have peonies, but I love them. Yours is stunning. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Olivia says:

    They need to be thinned after a few years, like iris, give the roots some room and spread them around the yard. I wants had a 40 foot long line of peonies which I did nothing to and they grew like crazy. But I lived in Spokane Washington that has a lot of snow and cold in the winter and then hot in the summer. Maybe they need summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That is a beautiful peony! My peonies are a mixed bag this year. Some that have never had many buds had more buds this year. Another one that was really loaded with buds last year only had about half the amount of buds this year. Maybe the warmish winter, and cold rainy spring made some difference (?). I think sun is the most important thing with peonies. We do put a little plant fertilizer on them early in the spring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

