Cursing & Knitting

A little more of one than the other if I’m being honest.


The Husband and N busied themselves this weekend with a lacrosse thing so I got the house to myself (with Myles of course- H was off somewhere with friends). I buckled down and did some serious knitting and got a couple of rows of lace done on the Dream Stripes shawl. I then took those rows out and thought a bit and knit them again. I think I’m back on track after spending time reading through the helpful projects on Ravelry. I’ve decided to go with some of those suggestions instead of the pattern. 

Through it all I watched a little TV. Yesterday I caught up on Victorian Slum House. How did I miss this? I love the PBS shows that show what it was really like to live in the past such as 1900 House. I’ve watched them all with interest but this version that takes place in the east end of London in the 1870’s -1900 means more to me. I had relatives who lived there at that time. Seeing a slice of their life has been very enlightening. I highly recommend it. 

Now back to the f*#£ing shawl. Did I mention I’m worrying about running out of yarn? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cursing & Knitting

  1. That shawl is going to be one of the pieces that will get lots of comments, and have a long story / history of its own. It is gorgeous, and you just keep going, you are nearly there. Hope you dont run out of yarn. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lovely shawl! The more swears the more special a project is in the end!! At least in my experience 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gah! Yarn chicken! I know the feeling…heck, I think just about every knitter knows the feeling of playing yarn chicken and hoping to the Fiber Gods that they don’t run out.

    Hopefully you’ll make it to the end, and I hope the shawl turns out wonderfully.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. salpal1 says:

    Sorry it is giving you such a hard time, because it looks fabulous! If you do run out of yarn, I hope you find a way to get a bit more, because this shawl will be worth the effort.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Hope you are back on track with the shawl. I recorded Victorian Slum House, but haven’t watched it yet – now I can’t wait to watch it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyreeves says:

    I feel your pain! Yesterday, after thinking and looking for a week, I ripped my sleeve out all the way down to the hem turn row….gah! But it will be worth it in the end, for BOTH of us!! Hoping your yarn holds out!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Eleni says:

    Hello, this is my first time in your blog!! Oh I totally understand your frustration!! I had to rip two sleeves and I have just finished the first one and need to do the second one because they were too small to fit in the sleeve opening on the body of the jumper I am making!! keep up the work, eventually it will get better!! and you will have enough yarn, you’ll see!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bad shawl, bad!! If you don’t shape up I’ll send my lace socks (little but feisty) to straighten you out. Dont you even think of running short on yarn!

    Im off to look for Victorian Slum House…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Olivia says:

    We live similar lives, I start and rip and start again all the while watching Netflix old shows. I’m wading through Doc Martin which sometimes depresses me because it amplifies how little men communicate their feelings and cause so many issues in relationships. But it’s set in darling Cornwall, England so I can’t resist.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your shawl is truly gorgeous! If it might ease your mind, spend five mins on Ravelry or elsewhere checking for extra yarn. Once you find some, banish the thought of running out from your mind and carry on with your amazing knitting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

