A Day Gardening

I spent an hour yesterday picked out plants at the garden center to do the graves for Memorial Day. Normally I get back to pick the plants up and put them in the yard. 


I bought an extra Zinnia for the front steps. 


See the big fluffy bee in the Rhododendron? It was busily buzzing from flower to flower.  That’s a good sign for our vegetable garden. I picked out some tomato plants and a summer squash plant so far for that. 

If your area is heading towards summer, are you planning a garden? What will you be growing?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in garden, Guilty Pleasures, plant, Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Day Gardening

  1. kathyreeves says:

    I’ll do another post soon on the garden renovation, which is nearly complete! We bought tomatoes, peppers and tomatillos, and have planted spinach, romaine, beets, turnips, cabbage, rutabagas, green beans, corn, potatoes, buttercup squash, pumpkins, carrots, onions, garlic, cantaloupe, oregano, basil, cilantro, parsley, dill and thyme. Yes, the backyard looks like a farm! Hopefully, it will sprout in spite of the threat of snow tomorrow!! The goal is to grow enough of everything to eat until next year. I am excited about the corn…we’ve never had enough room before!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathyreeves says:

    And, I love that you take potted plants to the cemetery, and then replant them. My mom’s marker is far away in northern Minnesota, so we are seldom able to visit it. I have planted irises in my yard, which is my reminder of her instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AliInPerth says:

    I’ll be planting two tubs with petunias this year. Normally I do geraniums but it’s time for a change. For veg, I do quite a large garden. It has the usual tomatoes, potatoes, squashes, carrots, herbs and an asparagus bed which is now 5 years old so it produces enough for my family of 3.
    In addition to all this, I have a long term plan to rejuvenate several neglected ornamental garden beds which were on the property when we bought it. Lots of work, but it should look good when it’s done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your memorial day flowers; I wish I lived close enough to my family (sometimes) that I could do the same. I might have to start planting a small “memorial” garden here just to have things that remind me of them. 🙂 As far as food gardening, we’re breaking down our one huge raised garden and changing it over to square foot beds (probably 4x4s to make it more manageable), so haven’t planted yet. We’ve also just now hit our planting date, so not too worried! Hubs wants an easy year of plants, so I think he finally settled on chard, kale, spinach, collards, and peas…I think I’m going to have to throw in some radishes, carrots, potatoes, and onions so there’s something I want to eat in that mix!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Stefanie says:

    I hope to one day have raised beds but I suspect we’d have to have barriers or whatever you call them to prevent the neighborhood squirrels and next door’s feral cats from eating whatever we want to grow. Our main priority this summer is to mulch the front. We let the grass die because we didn’t want to maintain it as it was drought season then.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Keos says:

    For the past two years, I’ve enthusiastically started a vegetable garden, but quit halfway through the season both times. Sure, it still yielded some veggies, but once the weeds started taking over, I was out. This year, I have done nothing. Nothing at all. I may not even start at all, or I may buy some seedlings and plant those, but mostly, I’ve decided to let the garden do whatever it wants this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. KerryCan says:

    I love this time of year, and planting flowers. We spent a fortune yesterday at the garden center–I have my work cut out for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. These are so nice. Great choices. I love summer plants. We are of course heading into winter here, so my potted plants have mainly moved to sheltered sunny spots for now. They are still happy and full of flowers.
    Enjoy your lovely weather and plants and have a great weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. YarnyDragonfly says:

    All of your flower planters look so nice. Love the pink zinnia on your steps. We used to plant tons of annuals all around the yard. Now we are down to several large pots of mostly impatiens from the garden center, a few with cosmos started from seed, and one with zinnias started from seed. The hummingbird(s) love the zinnias! And they will check out the cosmos too, but will always go back to the zinnias. The container garden vegetable farm is in full swing! All sorts of greens, lettuces, radishes, salad turnips, herbs, carrots, peas, strawberries and tomatoes (and probably a few things I have forgotten!). Happy gardening!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

