Brain Dump

These are the things swirling around in my addled allergic head. 

N got his trophies for completing Kumon. He did both the math and reading programs. We are very proud of him. He worked hard for over 10 years. The trophies, two clocks, are symbols of all he accomplished. Sorry the photo is cut off. His name is on the bottom of the plaque. 

I can’t recommend Kumon enough. It is by far the best activity my children did. (H completed the math program. It was all that was offered at the time. She then worked there as an instructor for about 5 years.) Along with the math and reading came the ability to work on their school work independently, the confidence to try new things (N was doing calculus in 5th grade) and a love of learning. 

The blob as I’ve taken to calling it is getting larger. I want to use as much of the yarn as I can so I’m going to make it larger than the pattern. Going by some of the projects on Ravelry, I’ll stop somewhere near 400 stitches. Between the stocking and Camp Loopy this project won’t be seeing much knitting time. 

The Husband was disappointed to see that the tv show Rosewood was cancelled. We like that one. Is anyone else disappointed? Then I saw that they’re bringing back American Idol. These two things make no sense to me. 

I was looking at patterns on Ravelry and found a few that I might consider for my June Camp Loopy project. 

What do you think? Have you knit any of these? The Twizzler Socks are still an option. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, kids, Knits, Knitting, The Loopy Ewe, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brain Dump

  1. Wow, that is awesome. Congrats. That is excellent going. Love the knitting. It is getting big yes. Lovely patterns, I enjoy knitting socks just as much. Have fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathyreeves says:

    A huge congrats to N, and to you parents for starting he and H in the program. As for the socks, that diversion pattern looks wild! All of my socks come from one very plain pattern, I think maybe they are my chill mode after cables or color work. I love looking at them, but I don’t have an urge to cast on any of them!! I am just weird.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stefanie says:

    I’m glad Kumon worked for your son. It has worked for my friend and my BFF’s husband. I did look into it for my tween but when I heard about how it works, I decided it wasn’t for her personality and learning style. It would have lowered her self-esteem and frustrated her immensely.
    One thing I love about reading knitting blogs is that I get exposed to patterns I’ve never seen before on Ravelry. You’ve just introduced me to three sock patterns I’m adding to my faves. Thank you ^__^.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Congratulations to N!! That is quite an accomplishment. I wish Kumon had been around when I was a kid – maybe I would “get” math now. Beautiful clocks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

