Answers

Yesterday I was asked if I was carrying the yarn for the stripes up the side. I thought I should explain. Dream Stripes is a free pattern so I’m really not giving away the secrets of the pattern. Also I am not knitting the edge stitches according to the pattern. In the helpful suggestions on Ravelry I saw that a few people were knitting two or three edge stitches and not slipping the first one as the pattern is written. I choose to knit two stitches at each end of every row. 


The top photo shows the front of the shawl and the lower photo shows the back. I am carrying the unused color up the back by picking the new color up behind the old color. There are only two rows of each color so the yarn is hardly carried any distance at all and as you can see it barely shows. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, Quirky Knitter, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Answers

  1. salpal1 says:

    lovely – thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathyreeves says:

    That makes perfect sense, a great tip!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Thanks for showing how that works – I have yet to try stripes this way and I really want to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

