At Loose Ends

As I mentioned the other day I was going to cast on the Dream Stripes shawl. The other projects that I’m knitting aren’t doing it for me. I don’t want to lose my mojo and that is likely if I force myself to knit something I’m not in the mood for. 

So I cast on the shawl and it was less than satisfying. Maybe even frustrating. I ripped it out and cast on again using a few of the helpful hints on Ravelry. That too looked uneven. I like neat and tidy. 


So I read more helpful hints. There are over 2000 projects on Ravelry so there are plenty of hints. After reading most of them I found the ones that would work for me and now I have the start of a happy striped shawl. The best part is the plain part of the pattern is simple enough that I can knit it without looking at the pattern. Hopefully this will keep the mojo going long enough for that loose ends feeling to pass and the need for a finished object feeling to kick in. 

Thank you for all your suggestions yesterday on the cake winding issues. I’ll try them next time.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to At Loose Ends

  1. Stefanie says:

    It looks really good. I cast on another shawl earlier but the yarn I’m using has a noticeable ply so it’s splitty when I’m trying to knit simple YO’s. I will have to use something else or put that pattern on hold.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 says:

    Sometimes you just have to cast on! I’m sorry that was so trying, though. Now that you are rolling, though, i think it will go fast.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. madgeface says:

    At loose ends – I know that feeling all too well. I hope it passes quickly and that your mojo gets stronger!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kathyreeves says:

    Very subtle stripes, no wonder you couldn’t resist!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your stripes are looking great. I like neat too. There are some yarns and patterns I seem to frog and frog and nothing seems to look quite right to me with them whereas with others I seem to knit away from start to finish. I hope this project restores your mojo 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That really looks nice and tidy. 🙂 Well done. Keep it up and enjoy the knitting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh, that looks really nice – keep going! I’m impressed with how neat you got it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

