A Little Yarn Talk

This is the yarn I ordered for my Loopy Academy extra credit project. It’s Knerd String fingering weight in shade 2 of 50. When I got the package I told The Husband the colorway name and asked what color he thought it was. His answer: blue. I then explained this is shade number 2 of the 50 shades. He then said gray. This is one reason I have a knitting blog. He just doesn’t get it. 

If it isn’t enough that I ordered this skein after buying all the yarn crawl yarn, I kind of went off the rails and signed up for the Camp Loopy Club. It’s three skeins dyed special for Camp Loopy. They will be delivered individually in May, June and July. Each package will also include a little something extra. I’ve never done a yarn club and have regretted it when I saw the packages. I’m a little nervous buying yarn without seeing it. 

Have you been in a yarn club? If you haven’t, are you tempted to try one? If you have, did you enjoy it? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Camp Loopy, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Little Yarn Talk

  1. Lol. That was funny. Yes, they either see it as being light or dark. 🙂
    It is a stunning yarn.
    I have never been on a yarn club, although I do order yarn online. I must admit that I only order from the sellers I know very well and know I can trust them when it comes to yarn and colours.
    Enjoy Camp Loopy, it looks like a lot of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Yup, you are right that men are a different species. I have never been in a yarn club, I like to feel and see my yarn or have implicit trust in the supplier. I tend to stick to brands that I now and trust, or if going to a new one, seeing it in a real life yarn shop.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AliInPerth says:

    Wow! That yarn is stunning!!
    I have been in yarn clubs – I was in the Rockin Sock Club and Sweet Georgia club and while sometimes the colours were fabulous, they often weren’t – or more correctly weren’t to my taste. I’ve learned that I’m very particular about colour. Invariably, I’d decide to leave the club and the next colour released was totally me. *sigh* This was several years ago and it was frustrating and disappointing enough that I’ve not been tempted to re-enroll in any of them. I’m quite happy to keep an eye on websites of dyers I like or go to the lys more often.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I just got my first yarn from a club, and have already decided that the next one better be completely amazing or I’m cancelling. The first was a color and texture that I would never have chosen and doubt I’ll ever use. But it wouldn’t stop me from trying other clubs. It may just lead me to my next new favorite. Your yarn is wonderful. I’m partial to darker colors and Earth tones so it is one I’d definitely have chosen for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kathyreeves says:

    That grab is really subtle, it has wonderful shading as it catches the light. Never done a club…I am too much of a tight wad to not be able to pick exactly what I want.😆

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stefanie says:

    Lovely shades of grey. Did you read that series? I only had joined one yarn club, that of Phydeaux Yarns. She’s awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. salpal1 says:

    still laughing… read that paragraph to my non-fiber appreciating spouse, and got a chuckle there as well. I haven’t done a yarn club, but I do a fiber club. Love it. Some months I don’t love the color, but I always find a way to use it for someone who does love the colors. The key is to pick a dyer who’s work you like, and know that they are trying to make everyone happy so some months the colors will really sing and others they will sing for someone else.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. elpalchica says:

    I haven’t been in a yarn club (not enough time to knit it!) but I can tell you from being in a WINE club that if it is tailored to your tastes (and I’m figuring anything from the loopy ewe is well-curated) then you should be very happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Gorgeous yarn – can’t wait to see it knitted up!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh, I forgot to say that I’ve never been in a yarn club, but it sounds like a lot of fun and I’ll be looking forward to see your yarn and goodies!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Olivia says:

    No yarn club but I order from Deramores all the time clear from England and the yarn always calms wonderful I’ve only had one skein of yarn that was bad and I order a lot of yarn. Is shipping cost is extremely reasonable but it does take about two weeks to get to me it gives me time to finish the project I’m working on, lol

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m fairly sure men only see in 16-bit colour, like old computers. My husband now tends to ask how much it costs and what animal it it from when I buy yarn

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I knit many hats for Christmas gifts from Knerd String. The brown was called “root beer” which I loved. I’m pretty sure my son calls it a “brown” hat, not a “root beer” hat. That’s OK – I know what it is!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

