Naknicromo Day 26: Projectless Yarn You’ve Held On To

I have a moderate sized yarn stash. I don’t think I have more than I could knit in my lifetime. There are quite a few skeins that have been there for a while. Sometimes they sit because I’m not sure what to knit with it or because I lack the skill/time/mental space to knit what I want.

img_0820-1_small2

There is one skein that has been there for a good long time. I have documentation of its purchase back in 2011. The yarn is Yarn Love Juliet in the color maiden. I just love the colors. It is so pretty. In the fall, after all these years, I rolled the skein into a ball with the intention of casting on a project to knit along with someone else. It never happened so the yarn still waits for its perfect project.

How about you? Do you have a projectiles yarn you just keep in your stash?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Naknicromo, Quirky Knitter, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Naknicromo Day 26: Projectless Yarn You’ve Held On To

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I hope you will knit with that yarn soon! It is so pretty. Most of the yarn I buy is projectless. This used to bother me (a little!), but I have discovered that I enjoy finding just the right yarn in my stash to go with a particular pattern. I’ve had many happy surprises using this method. Thank goodness for Ravelry!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have a tendency to buy locally dyed yarn as a souvenir when I visit a new (or old!) city, so I’ve got loads of projectless yarn! Often I’ll have a vague idea of what I might make, but if I’m honest with myself, I usually don’t.
    Your orphan skin is beautiful. Perhaps a pair of socks? or a baby sweater?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yikes! Meant to say “your orphan SKEIN is beautiful”!
    😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tinaor says:

    Quite a bit of my stash is projectless, but some soon will find their project – be it mine, or when yarn is gifted or sold to A N Other. Currently sorting my stash, still possibly keeping a little more than necessary – or so hubby tells me! Bah !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Olivia says:

    Since babies are coming fast and furious with my children, my yarn all has a future home EXCEPT one skein I “accidentally ” overspent on. It cost $35 and I’m not sure why I didn’t take it back inside when I noticed the bill in the car. It’s just that beautiful. But like you, I have no idea what to do with it. I don’t want to waste it on something small or frivolous. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Only recently have I been able to occasionally upgrade to buying nicer more expensive yarns. THOSE tend to sit a bit longer as I gather my courage to use them and find just the right project. But I’m sloooooowwwly starting to get into those.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

