Naknicromo Day 25: Favorite Yarn to Work With

I think every yarn has its place be it scratchy wool, super soft alpaca or stiff unforgiving cotton. Even eyelash yarn has its place. Can you tell I’m not a fan. But I have used it to knit hats for charity. 

If I had to pick one yarn and no other to knit forever it would be Cascade Heritage. It’s a fingering weight superwash sock yarn that comes in lots of colors. I’d be able to knit just about anything I want. 

But my most favorite yarn to try is Indy sock yarn. I let myself buy single skeins of sock yarn that I’ve never tried before most every chance I get. I love seeing the creative color combinations and then knitting them to see how they work up in different patterns. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Naknicromo, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Naknicromo Day 25: Favorite Yarn to Work With

  1. kathyreeves says:

    I think whatever is on my needles is my favorite! I have used plenty of big box acrylics, as well as Dale, KnitPicks and Bretton. Our new yarn store has Cascade, and a few other things, but not really much variety or choice, but I might try some of those out. But truly, squishing any yarn makes it a rather nice day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stefanie says:

    I guess for me, as long as it’s soft and is good to knit with, I’m cool with it. I like Cascade Heritage; you can’t beat the price, but I have had issues with it where the merino balls up in the cake and causes yarn barf and one skein I had bought for my brother and SIL’s socks last year did not wind up well and had me !@#$% most of the time. I have a black skein that is saved for a shawl. I hope I have better luck with that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I too love the indie sock yarns – not to make socks, but for shawls, etc. You really can’t go wrong with a beautiful skein of fingering weight yarn – so many possibilities! I really like Berocco Boboli Lace lately too. At first I didn’t like it too much, kind of splitty, but now that I’ve gotten used to it, I want to knit ALL THE COLORS!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

