Naknicromo Day 24: Favorite Project You’ve Ever Made

This is by far the hardest of the topics. I have a lot of favorite projects but they’re favorites for different reasons. 

  • Top Down Cardigan: This is the first adult size sweater that I knit and wore regularly. I wore it so much that it ended up having holes in it. It wasn’t the most flattering or stylish but it was warm and I made it. 
  • Celestarium: I knit this on a whim. The idea was so cool. I had some yarn I thought would work. Beads were purchased. The end result is amazing. But I’ve never worn it, not one time. I have the yarn and beads to knit Southern Skies, the companion piece, but haven’t had the urge to cast on. 
  • The final project I don’t have a photo of as it’s packed away. Back in 2001 we applied to adopt a baby. We expected a wait of 8-10 months but as that time extended I cast on a little white hooded sweater with a zipper up the back. I wasn’t an experienced knitter back then. I used big box store yarn. When it was finished my mother sewed in the zipper. A short time later, in February 2003, yes double the expected wait, we learned that our baby, a boy, had been born in Seoul. I packed up the sweater, a few little store bought outfits, a soft toy and gifts for his foster family and mailed them. In June 2003 we picked N up at Logan Airport and among his few belongings was the tiny white sweater in a zip top bag. I packed the bag away, unopened, so one day N can open it. 

How about you? What is your favorite project? Do you have a hard time picking just one?

    About nothingbutknit2

    I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
    This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Naknicromo, Quirky Knitter, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

    7 Responses to Naknicromo Day 24: Favorite Project You’ve Ever Made

    1. itwasjudith says:

      Nice projects and great to look back at your FOs. Celestarium looks amazing.
      Was it a difficult process to adopt internationally? A friend of mine went through it too, but he said it was really really hard and complicated.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. kathyreeves says:

      Great projects and great memories too! My favorite is probably my Catherine’s Wheel cardigan. It fit well, and I’ve worn it quite a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. salpal1 says:

      Hmm like you, I have different favorites for different reasons, but nothing tops that tiny white sweater story! What a lovely garment to have, tied up with such good memories!

      Liked by 1 person

    4. Stefanie says:

      What a journey you must have had through the adoption process and preparation to journey to Seoul! Did you specify where you had wanted to adopt from? I remember a former co-worker of mine who was all stressed out and wiped out by the time they were able to get their daughter from China. Are many babies up for adoption in Seoul?
      I have sadly been neglecting most of my knits in which most are beanies. Some I’m not interested in anymore and asked my girls if they’re interested. Others I haven’t worn. My Ravellenic Games beanie is the one I make the most use of. When I have a bad hair day or when it’s raining with wind, I just throw it on, like today.

      Like

    5. YarnyDragonfly says:

      I think my favorite project was the fairy. I never thought I would be able to make something like that, but the instructions were so good, I just followed along until I had a completed fairy. I love how she turned out.

      Liked by 1 person

    6. Olivia says:

      Not only do I not have a favorite project, my favorite thing to do is search for one. The whole process inspires me to finish whatever project I’m working on so I can start another. I think this might be the definition of an addict! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    