Naknicromo Day 20: Tips and Tricks

I’m going to stretch this a little bit. My tip has to do with finding more knitting time. I have tried to gather up my lost minutes and use them to knit. I spend a lot of time waiting and I regularly drag my knitting along and get a few rows in while I wait. I don’t usually get a lot accomplished but the rows do add up. 


The sock and I spent a little time at the grocery store cafe while N was at a birthday party in the area. I grabbed an early dinner, listened to a couple of podcasts and completed the foot of the second sock. As a bonus, if you find you’ve reached the I’m sick of this project point you can take that project only when you’re out and about. If you’re going to knit you’ll have no choice but to work on that project. 

Do you take a project with you when you’re out? How do you find more knitting time? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Naknicromo, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Naknicromo Day 20: Tips and Tricks

  1. So much beautiful progress on the sock – it looks lovely! Glad to hear you’ve been taking it out and about. I do love taking my knitting with me on transit, and find WIPs get magically finished that way. Tea helps. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MurisKnits says:

    If only there were more knitting hours in a day! I get up at 5am so I can knit for a couple of hours before going to work, my coworkers think I am crazy, but then aren’t all creative people!?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Olivia says:

    I knit everywhere I go but the best most concentrated time is while I’m on the way to horse shows. My daughter drives, I knit. I got 2 entire block rows done this weekend on a blanket this way. Those blocks are 26 rows each plus borders so I’m quite happy with the progress. (That includes the back knitting and mistake fixing) lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. madgeface says:

    The sock looks great! I knit all the time – generally, if I’m sitting, I’m knitting. I don’t just watch TV or read a book anymore, I do those things and knit. I also love long car rides!

    Like

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I recognize that spot! 🙂 It’s a great place to knit and look out over the grocery store. But be very careful of that little gap in the glass near the floor (I can see it at the bottom of your photo) – I nearly lost my book in that gap recently! Imagine getting bonked in the head by a book, or pointy needles while you’re trying to grocery shop! 🙂 You will be finished with that sock in no time!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SusanK says:

    Other than not getting snow days, the other negative that comes with working at home is no knitting time on my train/subway commute. And not being a morning person, I can’t do what another commenter here does and get my lazy self out of bed early to knit before work. 🙂 The socks are looking great! You’re almost there!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. salpal1 says:

    I agree – socks or a hat or SOMETHING goes with me everywhere. And I love when I travel if I have a “driver” so I can knit there and back. I also knit in the mornings, though not for hours during the week, I am lucky to get a row done before work. 🙂 And the evenings are for knitting before the fire and TV. This time of year, it is easy to find the time to knit – it gets harder when the warmer weather and outdoor chores come along, since I feel like I should be doing them if it is light out. Summer time is when I make a point to get up early on the weekends, sit out on the porch with knitting or spinning and just enjoy the fresh day.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. chrisknits says:

    I usually take something, but anymore I waste time rather than knit. But at least I have it when the call of the wild hits.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. kathyreeves says:

    I almost always have something with me when out and about. It keeps me from stewing about how long something takes!😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

