Naknicromo Day 18: Technique I Want To Master

The technique I’d like to master is knitting a sweater to fit me correctly. I’ve knit a fair number of sweaters for myself. To me sweater knitting is the peak of knitting mastery. I want to be able to see a sweater I like or take a pattern and make it so that it fits me and, the key, have it look good. I’ve read Elizabeth Zimmermann’s books so I have a general understanding of sweater construction. I’ve read Amy Herzog’s Knit to Flatter and taken the accompanying Craftsy class. I have a general idea of what would look better on my body type. It’s getting that information into a well fitting sweater that I have a disconnect. Maybe I’ll make this a goal in the future. 

How about you? Do you have a technique you’d like to master? Are you a sweater expert? Have any advice? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Naknicromo, Quirky Knitter, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Naknicromo Day 18: Technique I Want To Master

  1. junkytravel says:

    I saw my grandmother knit sweaters and I must say that this skill is for people who have great patient πŸ˜€ The best part of it, as you mentioned is, I get “sweaters that fit me correctly”. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is definitely up there on my long-term goals, too. It must be so incredible to be able to do this – really the sign of a master knitter.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think I started knitting sweaters that fit me until I had knit 10. I think the best advice I was ever given was to measure a sweater I owned that fit me well, and then knit my sweaters to those measurements

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie says:

    I’m not a sweater expert. I did learn from Amy H to measure under my underarms. I really hope my colorwork jumper comes out okay in sizing because I kind of had to McGuyver it a bit with gauge since I’m in-between sizes. I would like to learn brioche knitting but I need to get better at Portuguese first.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    All the different colorwork techniques, a perfectly fitting sweater, intricate lace – I better get busy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. chrisknits says:

    No advice, not a master yet myself. But I think the first step is recognizing your style. To do this well go out in the retail world and try on all styles and sizes of sweaters. Determine which one fits you the best. Buy it or study it intently. Then find that style in a knit pattern and go for it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

