Naknicromo Day 13: Favorite Tool of the Trade


See those shiny double pointed needles. They are my most favorite, most used knitting tool. I’m sure that sounds crazy to some but we, my size 1 1/2 Skacel metal dpns have spent many hours together knitting socks. There were those blanket squares too but I try to forget that they exist and that the blanket is unfinished. 


These dpns have traveled for vacations. We particularly enjoyed Disney World. They’ve kept me company while I’ve knit through good times and bad and even worse. They have been there for births, an adoption and multiple deaths. They have witnessed a lot. 

I remember the day I bought them at a small yarn shop in Maine. They were the only set of the size I needed and at the time I thought they were expensive. But now I know they are priceless. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Naknicromo. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Naknicromo Day 13: Favorite Tool of the Trade

  1. salpal1 says:

    That’s how I feel about my 8 inch addi turbo – expensive at the time but worth its weight in gold. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MurisKnits says:

    Definitely the pointy sticks. I have two full sets of every size needle available, but whenever I see knitting needles in a store, I am drawn to them like some people are to shiny jewelry! I really enjoy your daily challenge, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. no3royston says:

    I’ve been meaning to try sock knitting for years but wasn’t sure if the DPN would be fiddly to use? Does it take long to get the hang of it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is so much easier than you’d think. You’re still only knitting with two needles at a time. The other needles are just hanging there holding stitches. Some people use three needles and knit with a fourth. I prefer to use four needles and knit with a fifth. It feels more balanced to me. I suggest you give it a try:)

      Like

  4. Yes, I invested in an addi turbo needle myself a while ago, because I had many inferior needles that I had worn the working surfaces off. I am curious to know how long it will last.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I can’t live without my ChiaoGoo Lace needles – love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyreeves says:

    I love my no. 5 DPN, which I use for DH wool socks. They just go and go, round and round.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. whip1up says:

    Nothing beats those favorite needles. Mine are my kollage needles, circular and dpn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

