A New Theme

Your opinion is requested. I have changed the theme on the blog so that it has a white background and dark print. Before I fuss around with it, if I even do, do you find this easier to read? Do you like the sleeker look? I do most of my blogging from the app on my phone and what I see is vastly different than the view that is seen on a computer or tablet. Shall we make this a contest? I’ll send a skein of yarn, something from the stash, to a randomly chosen comment. I’ll pick the winner on March 16. This contest is open to everyone (as in I will ship internationally)! Be sure to leave an email with but not in your comment so I can contact you if you win. 

I recently added the basket to the kitchen counter to wrangle the keys that everyone dumps when they come through the door. I don’t know that it is the perfect solution but I do like the basket quite a bit. It’s from the last thrift store visit. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in blog stuff, Knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A New Theme

  1. It’s very simple and easy to read, for sure (have to confess I usually read your blog through WP reader so can’t picture what it looked like before! but the new version looks good).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. quilt32 says:

    I’m 84 and have some problems reading, so this is a perfect solution for me. The key basket is a good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyreeves says:

    I can’t compare because I usually am seeing your post at in the reader, but this style is very clean and easy to read. I like it! We have a key hanger we picked up at a garage sale. Having a set something for the keys to go in has been a great time saver for our entire family over the years!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AliInPerth says:

    Since you’ve asked, I’m happy to comment. 🙂
    As a general rule, I’m a fan of lots of white space and dark text as it really is easier to read, both on my computer where I’m seeing the theme in place and through a reader app so yes, I do very much like the look and feel of this page.
    My only comment would be that black text can sometimes be too much contrast so if you have the option, a very dark grey might actually be easier to read. Speaking of fonts, the body of text here is using Times New Roman (or something very similar) and while it is probably the most commonly used font available, it is best reserved for things which will be printed out. On screen reading is often easier with a sans-serif font (think Arial, Verdana, Helvetica etc).
    Love the key basket idea. I might have to go find something similar!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I do like the new theme very much and enjoy the new spin you’ve given to NothingButKnit! My blog is kind of in permanent ‘fuss around’ mode, but I like it that way. Great basket and thrift store find – the wrought iron of it kind of reminds me of bulky yarn!

    Like

  6. salpal1 says:

    I do like it – and it is making me rethink mine, which is a dark background with lighter writing. Hmmm, time for a change? And if everyone reads them in the reader mode, than no one sees my pretty colors anyway, right?

    Also – LOVE the key basket! I think it would look great filled with yarn, of course, but don’t mind me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like the new look and find it easier to read. I tried a basket, but my husband never used it so I gave up.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like it–all freshened up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I like your new blog look. I find it easier to read on a white background and I think it’s also good for showing your photos. I actually like serif fonts better than non serif because they make me feel that I’m reading something interesting, like a book, rather than something commercial or a road sign! Your basket looks great 🙂

    Like

  10. iceddee says:

    Looks fab. Yes it is easier to read but your blog is such a lovely read anyway!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. chrisknits says:

    Much better on my eyes than the white on black!!! I love the red in the header photo. I use baskets all over the house. For knitting projects by my knitting chair. To hold the paddles for my mixer. To hold knick knacks by the daily planner on the counter. In the sewing room for just about EVERYTHING! I am basket obsessed! I even use them for trash cans in bathrooms instead of waste baskets. Our keys stay in our purses, or in Hubster’s case, on his dresser. But I do have a pewter bread plate by the garage/house door for those times when someone leaves their keys while they are gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. My esthetic always leans towards clean and simple. The white for me makes my eyes a little more tired but I feel I can see the words better.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Renee Anne says:

    Honestly, I could go either way on this one. The lighter background and dark print is probably easier to read but my eyes still see pretty well with contacts so I could do the dark background and white print. Also, it made your blog “different” from all the other ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. My eyes are sensitive to bright white, so I appreciate areas without print to be a dark shade – I use black background settings on my desktop, youtube, etc, and it makes my eyes say, “aaaaaaaah!” Plus, I spend less time on bright white webpages, so I wouldn’t do more than glance with this – unless I really dim it with my f.lux app.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I think I prefer the lighter background although the previous one was fine. Good luck with that basket!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. It’s much easier to read and clearer to see everything – liking this new look!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I like this one better… Was kind of surprised when I got here… thought I had clicked on a different blog…

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Becky says:

    I really like it except I think a drop down bos for the archives would take up much less space.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Lee S Stein says:

    I find black text on white background the easiest to read, and when it comes to blogging, isn’t that what is most important? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

