Naknicromo Day 7: Share Your Progress

The shawl is done! Well, 99% done. I haven’t posted the photo on The Loopy Ewe site yet. The gallery isn’t ready. 


The pattern is Storm Warning by Liz Corke. The yarn is Knerd String merino nylon fingering in the color Darko. I used Miyuki 6/0 beads in transparent gray. 


I knit 56 repeats and probably could have knit 2 more but I didn’t want to risk running out of yarn. I did use a scale to weigh the yarn as I went along. The voice in my head talked me out of believing the scale. As you can see the shawl is plenty big enough. 


The pattern is well written and easy to follow. It includes a tutorial for adding the beads with a small crochet hook. I used a different method. Tutorial is here for what I did. It works well for me. The yarn is lovely. It’s a lighter fingering weight which I think is perfect for this pattern. The colors in the yarn are beautiful. It has shades of purple, blue and gray. I’ve used this yarn before and I know I will used it again. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, Naknicromo, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Naknicromo Day 7: Share Your Progress

  1. I really like this! I’m not a big fan of doing cables (though I love looking at them!), but this may convince me to tackle it again! Beautiful colour choice too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim says:

    Gorgeous shawl. You should be very proud, and happy that you stuck with it after the initial problems. Well done πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tinaor says:

    Truly gorgeous. Love the beading

    Liked by 1 person

  4. SunDust says:

    Wow! Congratulations! I never invest myself in big projects. I just feel I am not patient enough. However, I am inspired by Bloggers like you and am actually considering it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s lovely! I’ve never added beads to a yarn project but now I want to!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stefanie says:

    That is some smooshy yarn in a lovely color. How patient you are to bead and knit. One day I’ll try that.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kathyreeves says:

    So, do we get to see you wearing it, or will it be gifted? It is absolutely beautiful, the colors are so subtle but so interesting, the more you look the more you see!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    What a gorgeous shawl! And it’s much bigger than I thought it would be. Can’t wait to try this pattern soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Olivia says:

    It’s spectacular! And I love the new look to your blog! Sooo much easier to read! πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

