Well Earned Friday

This week has been busier than usual for me. The Husband is working in a different office and different hours than usual. He leaves in the morning before we get up and arrives home well after dinner time. I have been handling his usual household duties along with my own. Last night I took N to lacrosse. He’s playing for a different town this year. There weren’t enough kids signed up for our town to field a team in his age group. So we went off to preseason practice at a new location. It’s really a very nice facility particularly compared to the other places we’ve gone. I was able to sit on the balcony overlooking the field and not shiver. The other places were completely uninsulated and didn’t keep out the winter cold. It made knitting unpleasant. Last night I knit for almost the full hour without my coat on. It was fabulous. N had a good time and even made a new friend. This town has multiple teams in each age group. It’s going to be very different for N. Also the coaching is a lot more serious. One of the smallest kids left the field in tears because the coach was yelling-and not at him. It’s intense. N loved every minute of it. 


I didn’t take the shawl to knit. It’s reached a drag on the floor length when sitting down and I didn’t know what the knitting conditions would be. I brought along the Fair Isle Flower sock and got maybe 6 rows completed. My fair isle knitting skills are very rusty and I’ve ended up with a tangled mess of yarn. 

My plan for the rest of today is to get my chores out of the way early and spend the rest of my day knitting. Maybe that will equate with progress on both the shawl and the sock. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, Quirky Knitter, Socks, The Loopy Ewe, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Well Earned Friday

  1. kathyreeves says:

    That grape and bright green is going to be something!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 says:

    glad it is a nicer place for the audience, and that he is excited to be playing there. The yelling coach reminds me of an old story about the UCONN women’s basketball team. Coach Auriemma is a feisty guy, and apparently yells a lot. But there was one player who never got yelled at. When the other players asked about it, he said “because she does what I ask the first time I ask” He clearly learned that yelling at her would have the opposite effect of what he wanted. Good for him to figure that out! I hope this coach learns how to reach the smaller player. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely sock colours – looking forward to seeing more. I really enjoy looking forward to some well-earned knitting time after a busy day (that is, if I haven’t already spent the day knitting). Happy knitting Friday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tonymarkp says:

    I totally identify with the rusty Fair Isle skills. I go for long periods without “stranding the colors” and when I again decide to do it it feels like I’m learning again. I’m thinking maybe if I always have a Fair Isle hat in progress I won’t forget too much.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t tried Fair Isle yet, but plan to before too much longer. I’ll be looking forward to seeing your progress.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stefanie says:

    I like those pops of neon in that socky sock. How neat; I’ve never seen a facility like that before. I’m glad you’re warm and the kids as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Olivia says:

    The funny part is when you mentioned: The Husband’s chores. I should tell mine, he doesn’t know about chores. When my kids were still at home we had a chore chart (there were 8 of them) and one of the older ones keeps one up even if she’s living with her brothers or now her own husband. I have to laugh but husbands can get very clever at doing things “half baked” so as to never get asked to do them again. Ps: LOVE the colors on the sock! That pop of neon green is awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

