A Most Appreciated Gift

Last week my Knitting Neighbor and her family went on vacation to visit with her family in Ireland. I was tasked with overseeing their house, a job I am always happy to do. House watching in New England in February involves everything from putting in mail to making sure pipes don’t freeze to snow removal. It really could be anything. I lucked out. We had warm almost spring-like temperatures, no snow at all. Mainly I handled packages and made sure the house was secure and the heat still on. As a thank you I received the most beautiful skein of yarn: Dublin Dye swing sock. The color is called Irish Sea. I’ve already picked a pattern, Stepaside by Yvonne McSwiney, the dyer of the yarn. I’m looking forward to casting on as soon as my sock needles are free. Thanks Knitting Neighbor! 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Knits, Knitting, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Most Appreciated Gift

  1. kathyreeves says:

    That truly does look like the sea, beautiful color!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elpalchica says:

    As I looked out over Dublin Bay at Seapoint I truly saw every color in that skein…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, that is a super neighbor. Thats knows you all to well. How stunning is that colour. Yes, I would have picked a pattern immediately as well. Cant wait to see it on your needles. 🙂

    Like

  4. salpal1 says:

    ooooh, love that color! Glad you lucked out on the week to watch the house. It could have been so much worse. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. chrisknits says:

    Gorgeous and how appropriate a pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Deb says:

    What beautiful colors, those socks will go great with jeans or blue slacks. I live in New England, wasn’t last week gorgeous…a tease for Spring! What a very thoughtful neighbor. Enjoy!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a lovely thank you gift. The colour is gorgeous. Have fun knitting that up!

    Like

  8. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That yarn is beautiful! Can’t wait to see the socks on your needles.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Olivia says:

    Oh wow, what a gift! So beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Saturday Secret  | NothingButKnit

Leave a Reply

