Day After Day

This is the view I have when I pick N up at school. 

When N started middle school a couple of years ago I discovered how difficult it was to get a parking space near the school. I started arriving early and bringing my iPod and knitting for something to pass the 20 or so minutes. Then I discovered that in bad weather I had to arrive earlier so I’d get there 30 minutes early. My times wasn’t wasted-I knit. With the snow and the narrowing of the road I arrived even earlier to get a space near a driveway so I could pull into the snow void for N to get in. Now it is a habit to arrive 30-45 minutes early. I knit, listen to a podcast (current favorite “Real Crime Profile”) and have some time to myself before heading home to the hustle and bustle of homework and dinner. 

What do you do just for you?

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Quirky Knitter, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day After Day

  1. Stefanie says:

    As a former teacher I am super anal about time. In the city I would leave an hour before the bell and drive for 20 minutes to reach the school to park and wait. Here in the burbs everything is closer but I leave about 45 minutes before the bell to go park. I like having some knitting with me in the car; it makes me happy. Other times I have my Kindle or book to read which is great also.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to do a similar thing, I miss this quiet time now my girls no longer need taking to school.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I spend a lot of time waiting – at school, sports etc and Knitting is a brilliant and productive way of passing time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Renee Anne says:

    Honestly, the majority of my knitting time is after everyone else goes to bed, particularly if I’m working on complicated things. I can knit stockinette with the boys all over but cables require charts/directions (for the most part) so I tend to avoid that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    This sounds like a nice quiet break in the middle of your busy day. Plus you get to knit!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Both wise and productive.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

