My Best Most Useful Quality*

I have been knitting Storm Warning for 3 days and I have successfully completed exactly one repeat. Yes, one. I’ve ripped this sucker out at least four times. The furthest I’ve gotten is three repeats. My brain isn’t jiving with this pattern. I am missing details: twisting cables incorrectly, skipping YOs, forgetting beads. That kind of thing. I had an excuse yesterday- lack of sleep due to excessively loud and bright snow removal at 2am. Today I was just stupid. Hopefully now that I’ve made all those mistakes I can carry on and make some real progress. 


One big plus, I figured out how to wrangle everything and not sleep with stray beads: a simple plastic storage box. It’s big enough to hold the beads in their tubes, a small number of loose beads (I may still dump this thing over), the wire I’m using to attach the beads (tutorial here) and the cable needle. I can reach in and pull out whatever I need without looking so I don’t drop the stitch that I’m placing the bead on. Maybe this will help with the progress too. 

*Stubbornness. The pattern will not beat me. I will conquer it! 

Edited to add: Ripped again! Dropped stitch. I’m beginning to get the impression that this yarn does not want to be this pattern. Who am I to force a match not made in heaven. Back to Ravelry to find a perfect pattern for this yarn. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, Quirky Knitter, self improvement, The Loopy Ewe, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Best Most Useful Quality*

  1. twallisstone says:

    Good luck! Personally, challenges like this keep me knitting….Always have the notion that “I must conquer!” even if it means ripping out 5 times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’ve had patterns like this where all I do is start over. I had a horrible problem with Torquata by Ambah and just couldn’t get it right. And there were NO beads – LOL cannot even imagine how to apply beads – I finally said NO – I’m doing another pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. madgeface says:

    That’s the perfect solution to where to put everything! Glad you found something that works for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kim says:

    Just think how great it will feel when you conquer this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I like your storage box solution. Don’t give up!

    Like

  6. Hope you can find something more successful

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

