Half A Down Day

Yesterday was an icky day. It snowed, iced and rained. The timing of it was pretty bad. I had to pick N up at school at noon mid snowing. I got nothing done unless you count TV viewing. I’m calling it a down day: a day to relax and recharge. 


Fortunately I got to knit. That really does improve whatever kind of day it is. I completed the start of the front of Hug and just barely start one side of the back. As I said yesterday I went down a needle size from the pattern and I’m much closer to near gauge. I’m very happy with the feeling of the fabric. Cascade 220 in garter stitch is heavenly. I’ll make a real decision on how it’s going once I get the whole thing on one needle. 

It’s been a while since I’ve knit an adult size sweater. I’m not sure my heart is fully invested yet. Failure is a possibility. But I think I’ll keep going, knitting stitch after stitch, in the hope that there will be something wearable at the end. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, Quirky Knitter, The Loopy Ewe, this place, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Half A Down Day

  1. Stefanie says:

    Your stitches look great. 220 is a good workhorse. I understand about those early pick up days. You spend more time running around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathyreeves says:

    That is always scary, hoping you chose right and the size will be OK. I did a cable sweater once and ended up frogging most of the body and going up a size. It was my mistake sweater for sure! I still have it, but don’t wear it much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Just like the Patriots, never give up too early! Your vest could come together perfectly right at the very end! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alina says:

    We all need these kind of days to recharge and knitting makes everything better!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laura says:

    Be careful to check the size of your knitting as you go along and take your time and enjoy the knitting.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. chrisknits says:

    You can do it!! Just think of it as a big sock?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. wrinsyarns says:

    Glad you got home safely through the snow and ice. We’re in for our turn tomorrow. Fortunately, I have lots of books, yarn, movies, and tea.

    I haven’t used 220 in a while, but I always loved it. Can’t wait to see more as it grows. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. salpal1 says:

    Down days are good things! The weather is just not cooperating here – the snow/ice thing came over night, so we slept through most of it, had to slide to work today. Tomorrow we are due to get a foot of snow but not starting until after we get to work, and ending by midnight. I see a nasty ride home, and work the next day. Timing is all off! Still I can hope. šŸ™‚ The knitting looks nice, I think you will do just fine with it – just keep on knitting, all will be well.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Me too on the adult sweater. Im still loving mine after shoppe reassurance. Stay safe in the blizzard and hope you maintain heat and power. I kind of love a snow storm….until MARCH . then im done

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

