Thrift Shop Find

The Husband took half a day off or maybe he worked half his day off. It’s hard to tell since he has been working Thursdays for quite a while now and it’s supposed to be his day off. He always works Saturday. Anyway we had a couple of errands to run and along the way we stopped in at the thrift shop. I make it a habit to always check the yarn section first because you never know what you’ll find. Today I was lucky enough to find 2 skeins of Brown Sheep cotton fleece in barn red. I’d never pass up the opportunity to buy yarn so it popped into my basket. I don’t have a plan for it yet but I think it would make a lovely baby sweater. 

Do you like to shop at the thrift shop? Have you had any fabulous finds? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Quirky Knitter, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thrift Shop Find

  1. itwasjudith says:

    oh, yes, i had many interesting such finds! Isn’t a good find making one’s day, is it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 says:

    We used to have a really nice thrift shop nearby, and I found a BAG of cashmere yarn in a couple of colors for $3. I still have some left, it makes the most amazing hats. Sadly that store is closed, and the other major chain thrift store just isn’t as good, so I rarely go there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyreeves says:

    My girls and I buy all our jeans at the thrift shop! Can’t beat $3-5, and sometimes they even have the tags!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do like thrift shops but am always a little wary of thrift shop yarn. I recently made a sweater from yarn I recycled from a thrift shop sweater though

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good find! I love thrift stores and get most of my clothes from them. I don’t think I’ve picked up any yarn from them but I did once score several skeins from a yard sale.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Liz says:

    Oh yes, this week I found a vintage radio, a nice little knitting book from 1988 and a 70s lampshade ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. chrisknits says:

    Due to mold and dust allergies I can’t do thrift stores. I find they really aggravate my breathing. But I would love to find good yarn at a great price!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stefanie says:

    How fun to find that. The thrift stores around here are a bit junky. In the city they should be a lot better.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Good find! A nice color too. My mom and I collect Tasha Tudor books and most of them we have found at thrift stores. Then there was the huge tub o’yarn I got at a yard sale…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kim says:

    It’s always good to find treasure in a thrift store/charity shop. There doesn’t seem to be much yarn/fabric/patterns in UK charity shops but I always look – just in case!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

