Bad Habits

Or why I think I’m a bad person. Everyone has bad habits. Things they do that they know they shouldn’t but it’s a habit and they do it anyway. I’m right there, not at the front of the line but pretty darn close. 

Now that we’re just about done with January and I’ve done pretty ok with the 17UFOsin2017 I think it’s time I fess up on a few bad habits and see if I can maybe rein them in a little. They are habits so I can’t expect to give them all up and be perfect. 

  • I hate to dust. I can “clean” the entire house and leave a coating of dust mostly undisturbed on every flat surface. I’m not proud of this. I just have the ability to not see it. 
  • Pinterest I love you. There is something about reading through their suggested things and pinning them into categories for later reading that makes me feel like I’m accomplishing something. But I never read them. I do sometimes make the recipes I pin but all the other things-never. I really either have to stay off that part of Pinterest since it is a major time waster or actually go through and read some of this stuff that I thought looked so interesting. I would like the cabinet under my kitchen sink to be all neat and organized with the little baskets you can buy at the Dollar store. 
  • I have a refrigerator that is covered with stuff being held on with magnets. All these things seem so important that I have to have them at my fingertips or eye view so I know where they are. But much of it isn’t all that necessary. Now and then I take everything off, cull what isn’t needed and yet a few months later I’m back where I was. I need a stainless steel refrigerator so magnets won’t stick to it. 
  • I save much of the paper that comes into this house. There is mail, bills, receipts, lists and just about anything that might be needed later. Now and then I’ll sit down and shred a bunch of it. I need a better system for organizing this (Help me Pinterest!) or a secretary to handle all this paper. Why can’t I just deal with it once and be done.
  • I love to read blogs. I have a bunch I read every day. The vast majority are knitting related. If a like button can be clicked I’ll click it but I don’t often comment. It’s easy to click. It’s harder to say something interesting, useful or original. I’m going to make an effort to comment. I love when people comment here and I suspect others feel the same way. 
  • In the past I’ve talked about my addiction to Pepsi. This isn’t Pepsi, it’s Coke but the problem is the same. I love the bubbly brown drink when poured over ice. A few times I’ve managed to get off of it for months but here I am back again. I don’t need the sugar/calories or the bad stuff it does to your teeth. It’s a habit (and an addiction.)
  • The clutter is back already. See it’s a bad habit! 

I could go on and on. I’m a work in progress. What about you? What are your bad habits? Are you working on them? 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 17ufosin2017, Guilty Pleasures, Quirky Knitter, self improvement, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Bad Habits

  1. Atomic Knitting says:

    Great post – I like the bit about blog commenting – I too find it very hard to write something on blog comments, so here’s my attempt! We all have habits, good and bad, be kind to yourself and don’t sweat it. I have a room (several actually) that needs decluttering. I walk past it everyday and say ‘tomorrow I will make a start’. Been doing that for 2 years. Maybe tomorrow I’ll make a start…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. itwasjudith says:

    Pretty much all of them, I have too πŸ˜›
    This one in particular “If a like button can be clicked I’ll click it but I don’t often comment.”
    I should make an effort to get on track, really πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chrisknits says:

    Soft drinks, but I limit them to 1 per day, and try to drink Caffeine free. Taking on more than I can handle? Or should I say loading up my queue to am impossible number? I am bad about commenting, and I don’t even click like, never even look for the link. But I adore comments myself. Sometimes I keep it short and simple, and then, like today, I write a page’s worth!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kathyreeves says:

    I have several bad habits…I get lost in my own little wold and tune everything and everyone out! I definitely don’t listen enough, and
    I prefer to ignore unpleasant tasks, especially at home! We are all works in progress, and there is no perfection on this side of heaven!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. salpal1 says:

    lol I read your post wondering when you were in my house? I don’t; mind dusting, but I don’t do it much, either. I hate vacuuming and will do a lot to avoid it – we have no rugs in our house, for instance. My kind wife does 99% of the vacuuming, but she does NOT wait for me to dust first, so I don’t dust, because why would you dust right AFTER a room has been vacuumed? Hence we can write each other notes in the few surfaces not covered with clutter. πŸ™‚ How we beat this? We have company over every few months, so we have to clean up a bit.

    Paper is an issue too, I think it is for everyone, unless they are merciless with the mail. We do have a lovely file cabinet upstairs, but the paper stops before it gets there, until said company is coming, then it gets bundled upstairs to be filed once every couple of years.

    I have tried so many “foolproof” methods of handling it all, and I think what works for me is to do the best I can, then do a major clearing periodically. It’s just that I need that period to be shorter than it currently is. πŸ™‚

    But I am good about commenting, right? And I love when you comment on my blog, really I do. Even if it is just one sentence to show you liked what you saw. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  6. shellssells says:

    I, too, am terrible about commenting. For all of the same reasons. I LOVE reading blogs and seeing what everyone is up to, and gathering creative energy from everyone. But, I don’t comment often. However, your bedroom dresser post triggered a comment from me! And I did clean up that weekend. And yes, it’s already back. Not as bad as before, but it’s there. It really IS my bad habit.

    I keep saying I am going to quit half n half in my coffee. And then it NEVER happens. On the other hand, my 2 cups of morning coffee are the ONLY drink I drink besides water (or white wine on occasion) so in the end, I feel entitled to it I suppose.

    Other bad habits, leaving shoes and socks ALL OVER the house and when I get annoyed with it, I make my daughter pick them up. Also, transferring the stuff left on my dresser into my craft room and not putting it away properly. Thus, only MOVING half the clutter rather than ACTUALLY DEALING with the clutter. Maybe that’ll be this weekend’s project and I can say that you again inspired me.

    I have to say, I honestly thought that was the stem of a flower in your coke and I thought maybe you’d done that so you didn’t drink the coke, but it seemed an odd thing to do. Only later did I realize it’s a straw. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. whip1up says:

    Oh, the Pepsi thing….I was buying 2 six packs at a time, and needing more every two or three days. I cut most of it out of my diet in September when my daughter took a picture of me in the ocean. I was horrified with my appearance! Now I give in to the craving once in awhile, and it’s working. I understand that particular bad habit all too well! And the dusting thing….hate it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pinterest sucks me in every time. I’ve just moved into my first apartment and decorating options and crafty things I like the sound of all get pinned but I rarely click the link.
    Soft drinks. I hear you on the Pepsi/coke thing. I keep cutting it out but it always manages to seep back in.
    Housekeeping. I live with 2 boys who think cleaning is piling things in the corners of rooms. I bought some boxes from the dollar store to put the piles in and they have sat in the trunk of my car because I haven’t gotten round to decorating them yet (not sure they need decorating in the first place).

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my, I feel as thought I am reading about myself. I think I collect dust around the house at this point. The only real dusting I do is around my spinning wheel and in the yarn room. And oh, the paper collection . . . help! So nice to find a kindred spirit and laugh a bit about it all.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. felinity says:

    Agree about commenting – I am guilty of not commenting too. Will definitely follow your example to do more!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I have too many bad habits to list here, but I definitely am a chronic procrastinator. Unfortunately, this habit likes to express itself in lots of different domains. It hasn’t touched the knitting just yet, though. I really enjoyed this refreshing and honest post; we’re all works in progress. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Paper. Paper everywhere.
    The laundry never seems to leave the baskets after wash day.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This is all sounding far too familiar…..except the coke/Pepsi thing – can’t stand the stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. First, please, you are NOT a bad person because that would make me horrid!

    Second, thank you for the laugh. I burst out laughing at the timing between reading “Pintrest” and seeing the refrigerator (that looks just like mine) with things held all over it with magnets – pinned to it πŸ˜€ Just hit me as soooo funny! Thanks, I needed that ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I don’t see any dust in that first photo…..I don’t see any dust in my house, either! πŸ™‚ I too have many “bad” habits – too many to list here. But I am trying to do better on most of them (still haven’t succeeded much with dusting and cleaning in general). I think it will be easier to dust and clean when there is less STUFF in the house, and that is what I am concentrating on now. But, it takes a lot of time and energy to get STUFF out of the house, so it is a slow process. I FINALLY kicked my Pepsi/soda pop habit. First step – don’t buy any. If it’s not in the fridge/house you can’t drink it. I had to do this slowly (as with any true addiction withdrawal program). Also, we started making water kefir (using fruit to flavor it) and it’s fizzy! So that satisfies my need for fizzy drinks (and since it takes work to make, I don’t guzzle it down so fast). I will still get pepsi/coke if eating out somewhere, but that isn’t very often. There’s a lot of bad chemicals in that stuff and that helped me to break the habit too (knowing that I wasn’t drinking all that crap anymore). Good luck with taming the bad habits! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Renee Anne says:

    I, too, have a ton of paper. Around this time every year, I cull it because I’m collecting things for taxes and I get rid of a bunch of stuff. I’m pretty good about regular mail but bills get shuffled away sometimes (speaking of which…) and then there are all the receipts and such for taxes. ::sigh:: Stupid taxes. Making me clean. ::grumblegrumble::

    Liked by 1 person

  17. dawnhiprose says:

    Totally! I’m a work in progress! I’ve been listening to a podcast, called The Minimalists. They are inspiring! I’ve decluttered my closet, my kitchen, my books, and my yarn stash. So far, so good. The goal now is to keep it up. Wish me luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Kim says:

    Not a bad person at all. I have a whole heap of bad habits – and I’m not about to list them on the internet (but I share your aversion to dusting…)

    Liked by 1 person

  19. You pretty much nailed every one of my bad habits…..Unless you add in buying vegetables that I intend to eat but will throw out because I never ate them soon enough…..

    Liked by 1 person

  20. movetodream says:

    Try to use storage boxes. Then you can put them on the shelf, and get it when you need to. In a quarter you can check paper and get rid of unnecessary.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

