FO Friday: Blanket Edition

I have finished the baby blanket for the yet to be born wee boy. The pattern is the Pine Forest Blanket by Ingrid Aartun Boe. The yarn is Feza Yarns Zara solids in color 108. 

I cast this on on a whim. We knew The Husband’s nephew and his wife were expecting and right before Christmas they told everyone the gender. I’d seen this pattern on Ravelry and had queued it with the idea that it would make a nice gift one day for someone. The yarn was among the many bags full I was gifted by my mother’s neighbor. So really a bunch of happy coincidences lined up to make this blanket possible. 

The gull lace pattern is the same as the famous Elizabeth Zimmermann Baby Sweater on Two Needles (aka February Baby Sweater). Having knit that pattern I knew how fabulous the lace would look, even for a boy. The entire blanket took just one month to knit. Not long at all! 

Now we wait for baby to arrive. Not too much longer, he should be here in April. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 17ufosin2017, FO, FOF, Knits, Knitting, this place, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to FO Friday: Blanket Edition

  1. So handsome! A wonderful gift

    Liked by 1 person

  2. salpal1 says:

    Lovely job! And how. Ice to have the perfect yarn in stash already!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyreeves says:

    It will be well used, I’m certain!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YarnyDragonfly says:

    It’s beautiful! You have lots of time to make the baby something else, if you want.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, it’s stunning! well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Renee Anne says:

    WOOOOHOOOO! Finished object!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sarah says:

    So pretty! It looks lovely and soft.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It looks fabulous. Great finish and in plenty of time for the new little chap.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. One of my favorite gifts for the Older before she was born was a hand knit blanket from my aunt. So much more soft and supple that crochet, I have always thought. That blanket is why I was drawn to knitting. Older and I both loved that blanket, even as it began pulling apart. I had to tuck it away in her remembrance box before it completely disintegrated. But what a lovely gift to treasure as I’m sure yours will be.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Stefanie says:

    This is a lovely finish.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Olivia says:

    I’m also working on a baby blanket but I started it before I knew the gender. It will be my son’s first. I just knew (hoped) it would be a boy. My confession is that I bought the yarn right after they were married last June. As soon as they told me about the pregnancy I was itching to knit something for the baby. Christmas kind of got in the way. So once it was over I couldn’t wait any longer and started on the blanket. They came over for dinner last Tuesday and did the gender revel. It’s a boy. But honestly, the blanket is coming along so beautifully that I would have made it work regardless. Yours is gorgeous. I also love that lace pattern. Mine is solid knitting. It takes forever!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful. I cannot get lace knitting to work out for me. I make to many mistakes and lose interest in ripping and re knitting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

