It Only Hurts When I Knit

Good grief! It seems I’ve bruised my finger. There is a callous and a split in the skin and a bruise. Is this evidence that I’ve been knitting too much? No such thing in my book! I think I’ll try a small bandaid and see if that helps. What’s a knitter to do?!?!

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knitting, self improvement, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It Only Hurts When I Knit

  1. tonymarkp says:

    If this kind of thing happens to me I use a Bandaid or I scotch tape a few small layers of tissue to my finger to make an improvised pad. If all else fails I put my knitting down for a few days and crochet instead!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. quilt32 says:

    I think a bandaid should help – can’t give up the knitting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer says:

    I do that too. It’s those pesky sharp needles and poking! I poke, especially when I’m knitting socks. Sigh. Knitting injuries are painful, especially when you need to knit no matter what. I’m thinking a leather thimble on my poking finger might be good. Trouble is – it costs as much as a skein of decent yarn!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shellssells says:

    This happens to me when I knit socks too much. I get a tiny hole on the pad of my finger. I generally then try to alternate between socks and larger needle requiring items. As well as attempt to change where I am pushing on the tip of the needle, but that’s only effective a little bit and provides a sore surprise often. Good luck, heal fast!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fibre Muse says:

    Ouch, I feel your pain – not too long ago I had a veritable hole in my finger from sharp little lace needles! Whack a dressing on there and you’re good to go

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Oh dear! Hope it doesn’t slow down your knitting!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. chrisknits says:

    Ice it, take long breaks, Narcotics, curl up in a ball and cry?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tinaor says:

    Put a plaster on it and try and carry on – just hope you aren’t risking any bloodstains on light yarns! You must have been enjoying yourself so much that you didn’t notice what the needles were doing to you. Been there, done that, though more often it’s a stiff shoulder than a spiked finger. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Perhaps try using a thimble, or one of those rubber fingertips like cashiers wear ? xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh No!! Hope you heal quickly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

