17ufosin2017: The House Continues

There are certain areas of our house that tends to gather clutter. Some would say any flat surface. Most of those get decluttered regularly. I’m talking about places that are more out of sight where things can be dropped and over time stack up. My dresser and the area in front of it are my worst bad habit. It’s where I keep my knitting bags, clothes that I’ll wear one more time before they hit the laundry, mail and anything I just need to put some place out of the way. I spent about an hour yesterday putting away what just got placed temporarily and reorganized what stays, dusting along the way. 


As you can see it’s greatly improved! I did put the stack of mail back after I took the photo. It’s mostly tax stuff I’m gathering for the accountant and a couple of bills that have to be paid next week. 

There are a few more clutter spots, a couple of closets and the porch and basement to be cleaned out. Stay tuned. I should be tackling one of those next week. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 17ufosin2017, this place. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 17ufosin2017: The House Continues

  1. salpal1 says:

    I have a writing table besides de the bed that could use a visit from you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shellssells says:

    Thank you for posting this. Seriously. Thank you. I am always HIGHLY critical of myself for the exact same area in my home, which is cluttered for the exact same reasons. It’s scheduled for a decluttering this weekend. However, just knowing other people struggle with this place in their home has made me feel a little less alone, and a little less critical of myself. Looks great! And your hardwood floors are gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathyreeves says:

    You got me! I have a dresser just like yours, I’m going to clean it off this evening. Thanks for leading by example!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. elpalchica says:

    My dresser just got additional items from my husband’s dresser, which had a stereo put on it, so it is due a reorganization!!! I will try to get it done today!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Renee Anne says:

    I’m working on the yarn closet right now. My stash has gotten out of hand.

    But, I hear you on flat surfaces. The counter, table, buffet….yeah, they all have that issue. In fact, my counter needs work. I also have a pile of important paperwork (stuff for taxes, stuff from our insurance companies, etc.), but we also have stuff that we want to keep but don’t necessarily have places for. It’s a constant WIP.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well done! I hate having to clean up “those” places.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I have trouble with flat surfaces too. Usually it involves several layers! Thanks for sharing your inspiring before and after photos – well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have a few of these areas. I’ve been feeling the need to declutter too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

