Clessidra, A Love Story

I see my story yesterday got your attention. Before I tell you how I happened upon Clessidra we have to have a discussion about Socks. 

I have a serious thing about knitting socks. I will admit that it verges on an obsession. I have knit a lot of socks. I wear them, I knit them for family and I advocate for others to knit them. The summit of sock knitting for me is kneesocks. Well fitting and stylish to be worn with a skirt. Forget that I never wear skirts. With the right kneesocks I might. Hey a girl can fantasize. 

In March of 2007 I was looking at Knitty, a particularly good sock issue with bmp, queen of cups and my dream socks: Clessidra. I remember it like it was yesterday. I looked at the pattern, a lot. I could picture myself wearing the socks with a navy blue skirt and a nice hand knit cardigan. 

I finally cast on the socks and knit them on and off for a few months. I talked about them quite a bit on the blog. I had some nice things to say and some not so nice things to say. After that they were never heard from again. I had given up and deposited them in the UFO bin. 

They’re still my favorite ever sock pattern. The highest point on the mountain that I have not reached with my sock knitting. 


Maybe we aren’t always meant to reach the summit. Maybe that goal is just out of reach so that we will continue to aspire to it. Maybe I’ll try again, fresh, with different yarn and the knitting knowledge I have gained in the almost ten years since I cast these on originally. It’s good to have a dream. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in Knits, Knitting, Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Clessidra, A Love Story

  1. kathyreeves says:

    Another one off the list! Once you’ve gone through these, you’ll have so much fun deciding what you will make with the yarn!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. elpalchica says:

    You had me hanging and then that picture!!!!! All those balls! It’s a gorgeous yarn so I know you will find something for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Olivia says:

    I just looked up that pattern! Wow! What you need is a cheerleading team so you can finish them. They will be spectacular! Go Knitter! 🎉🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie says:

    Maybe some new, fresh yarn for this pattern will reignite your passion for this design and hey, it’s an excuse to go yarn shopping yeah? Think about all the new knowledge you have now under your belt from knitting socks since 2007.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG, they’re gorgeous! Of course they’ve been added to my favorites and my queue, too. Because I wear skirts oh so much……not. But I do love warm legs and the idea of wearing socks that are tall enough that no pair of pants will ride up over them when I sit down (long legs). Maybe I would start wearing skirts….? Nah. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh no! Do hope you try again. What will the red yarn become now, I wonder?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. YarnyDragonfly says:

    You are very brave to rip out such a beautiful WIP! I bet you will be way more happier on the next go around with this pattern. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, so sad. I was sure you were going to finish them – they were so beautiful. Maybe you would have more luck in blue….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

