In The Olden Days

Come over here. I’m going to tell you a story of a time that did exist not too long ago. I don’t want to frighten you but this is a tale of a wild lawless time. If you get scared just take a moment and click this link. See it’s still there. 


Once there was no Ravelry. I know some of you think I’m telling tall tales. But really once Ravelry didn’t exist. Knitters who were computer savvy belonged to the KnitList and the really addicted knitters read knitting blogs or even kept their own knitting blog. Back in those Wild West knitting days there was little accountability. A project page with all the details was rare. Knitters played fast and loose with their projects. You could cast on a new project every day and never finish anything and no one realized. 

It was so easy to lose interest in a project


And just drop it in the UFO pile. Oops. It appears my secret hidden shame has been revealed. I have UFOs that never made it to Ravelry. I don’t even remember the name of some of these patterns. Three of the four will be frogged. Clessidra, the red cabled knee socks I’m not so sure about. Clessidra and I have had a rocky relationship but more about that tomorrow. I’ve kept you here long enough with my stories. Run along. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 17ufosin2017, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In The Olden Days

  1. your cables are awesome! I remember yahoo groups, that was my equivalent to ravelry back in the day;)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Renee Anne says:

    It’s true! When I first started knitting, Ravelry was still in Beta Testing, where you needed an invite to join (and I was lucky enough to get into the Beta Testing phase). But I know people were keeping knitting blogs long before then, because even though I didn’t knit, some of the blogs I read DID have owners that knit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So true – I still have UFOs that never made it onto Ravelry (ssshhhhhhh!). You are an inspiration to us all 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie says:

    I remember looking and joining these knitting websites until I kept seeing Ravelry mentioned and moved onto that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    A time when there was no Ravelry????? Now, that’s just scary. Luckily, I started knitting around the time Ravelry came into existence. I can’t imagine knitting life without it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have gobs of UFOs and not one of them have made it to Ravelry. It is to much pressure for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sadly I remember the pre computer days – not just pre Ravelry 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

