WIP Wednesday: The Let It Go Edition 

I am ready to add the third skein to the Pine Forest Blanket. I knew I wanted to snap a quick photo for the blog before I sit down to attach that skein. I laid the blanket on the living room rug to spread it out to get a really good view. I took out my phone to take a photo and what do I see? A mistake! Can you see it, that odd line nearly half way up? I repeated the same row twice!! I felt a moment of dizzy spinning nausea. My immediate reaction was to think “Rip it out! That’s go to go.” 


See it in the center of the photo. I took another moment to think about the whole situation. It’s a blanket for a baby who will deposit bodily fluids and near solids on it. I don’t think he’s going to notice. Overall it’s not a huge issue. It looks fine. It serves it’s purpose. I’m going to take a deep breath and let it go. This is a learning moment. I am not perfect and my knits don’t have to be either. 


17ufosin2017 report: This cabinet has been cleaned and organized. Many outdated items were dealt with. I filled half a trash can with recyclable packaging and most of a trash bag with the contents of those packages. It’s been eons since I did this. There were things shoved in the back dated 2014. I’m not proud about that. Another thing that’s embarrassing is how many things I have in multiple: 4 boxes of salt, 2 of coconut oil, and 2 recently opened jars of peanut butter. Hopefully being able to see into the cabinet will prevent this in the future. 


This was dinner last night. Yes I cleaned out a cabinet and made a rather involved dinner. I feel so domestic. I used this recipe for Mexican Cauliflower Rice and this fajita seasoning which I sprinkled on the chicken which I baked in the oven with onions and green peppers. It was tasty and everyone loved it. It will be a once in a while meal because it took longer to wash the dishes and clean up the kitchen than it took to eat. That really should only happen on holidays. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 17ufosin2017, food, Knits, Knitting, Quirky Knitter, this place, WIPW, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WIP Wednesday: The Let It Go Edition 

  1. Consider the mistake Humility Stitches – nothing’s perfect! I think it looks wonderful.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s a design feature, me thinks 🙂 The baby won’t mind, and perfection is way over-rated!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. kathyreeves says:

    There’s a mistake somewhere in everything…isn’t that a famous quote?! The cupboard looks fab…you will meet your goal! A cupboard a day is doable for me, it’s when I overshoot that I lose my mojo and get discouraged!

    Like

  4. Your blanket is exquisite, and the mistaken row is barely visible. In fact, I’d say it’s invisible to anyone but you (unless you point it out), so consider your ability to see it a Superpower — in addition to your knitting Superpower!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    I agree with all your conclusions about the blanket – let it go! The baby will not notice and neither will anyone else because they will be looking at the baby! Can’t wait to try the Mexican Cauliflower Rice. Your cupboard looks so neat and tidy – nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. chrisknits says:

    As always, it’s more apparent to you than anyone else. I need to learn to let things go, in life AND knitting!

    Like

  7. frayedattheedge says:

    I had to look really closely to see the mistake, so I shouldn’t worry to much about it – as you said, it’s for a baby! It can be embarrassing what you find when you tidy cupboards!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stefanie says:

    I love seeing this blanket project. It almost looks like you wouldn’t have to block it (?).

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s feels good to have a cupboard clean out (you’re not the only one with “old” packets!). So pleased you’re not undoing your blanket; good philosophy.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I have a similar mistake on a sweater I made, though I can now only locate the error if I look really carefully. The blanket looks lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I can’t see anything but a beautiful blanket! Hard to let it go (I found a mistake on my Stornoway Throw–and every blanket I’ve made, really); but I love knowing there is a mistake somehow–makes the whole process seem more human 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Say nothing (and we aren’t going to tell) and no-one will notice. And as you have identified the baby will be making its own amendments in due course!
    Don’t feel bad about your cupboard – I have been doing a similar job here with very similar results.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I say replicate your mistake again. Once is a mistake, twice is a pattern. It still looks beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

