Satisfying Knit

I’ve knit a lot of things: hats, mittens, blankets, socks, even gloves but nothing is more satisfying than a completed sweater. This is Puerperium by Kelly van Niekerk. The yarn is Bernat Softee Baby in flannel. The pattern is available in the newborn size for free on Ravelry. The larger sizes are available on a pay for pattern. This is the newborn size. 

I didn’t really plan to knit this sweater or buy this yarn for that matter. H wanted to go to Michaels. I said sure I can look at the yarn. I saw, then felt this yarn and thought it would make a nice…something. When I went looking on Ravelry to see what other people had made with this yarn I saw this pattern. I knew I had a baby to knit for, I had the yarn, the pattern was free and I’d seen my knitting neighbor knit one. How could I not give it a try. I’m so happy I did!

I love the way it turned out. The yarn is very soft and washable. The style is super cute. Now I just have to hope it fits the baby it’s intended for. Did I tell you that he was almost 3 lbs heavier at birth than his sister? I sure didn’t expect that when I was knitting it. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 17ufosin2017, Knits, knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Satisfying Knit

  1. YarnyDragonfly says:

    That is sooo cute, and the buttons are perfect! I might have just gone to Michael’s and bought some Bernat Softee Baby in pink to start a Puerperium for the baby coming in February….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chrisknits says:

    Adorable sweater! I love the look, but hate all the buttons! And my hidden talent is finding the most expensive buttons on the first try!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a lovely, cozy looking sweater. Thanks for sharing – I’ll have to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. elpalchica says:

    “Knitting neighbor ” has knit three! I love this pattern so much. Yours is adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ellen says:

    Dang, that’s a beautiful knit. I have to think of this for the next baby … but honestly. BUTTONS!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

