Start As You Wish To Go On

Happy New Year! I hope 2017 is a kinder more gentle year for all. 

Today, this first day of a new year, I have a finished object. This is the Sweet Summer Shawl by Michelle Krause that I knit for the Indie Design Gift-A-Long. The yarn is Fiber Stash Dyeworks strong toes in jailhouse rock that I bought at the Fiber Festival of New England. The shawl is knit sideways so the body and lace edge are done at the same time. I think that is my favorite way to knit a shawl. The pattern is well written and easy to follow. The yarn is soft and a delight to knit with. It didn’t take long to knit but I made the mistake of setting it aside and not blocking it right away. The blocking was done in a panic the day before the last day of the knit along. I snuck it in just under the wire. The gift along was a great way to support indie designers. I was introduced to a bunch of lovely designs I wouldn’t have known about and got a gift knit that was very well received. I look forward to participating again next year. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in GiftAlong2016, Knits, Knitting, Those crazy holidays, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Start As You Wish To Go On

  1. Stefanie says:

    This is a pretty shawl. I like how it’s simple design is soft and invokes a smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Olivia says:

    It’s beautiful wow

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim says:

    Beautiful, and I love your chair too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! This is gorgeous. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

