Dithering

I was quite gung ho when I first read about 17 UFOs in 2017. It seemed so doable. But here I sit on 1/2/2017 trying to decide if I should make the leap. I’ve had a serious look at my Ravelry projects and there are 11 candidates sitting there. I also have non-knitting things that need doing. I think if I modify things to my needs and I don’t hold myself to too high a standard I’ll be fine. So here it is. My Plan.

My list of 11 knitting UFOs and 2 current WIPs.

  • White Pine: I started this in December 2010 and revisited it in April 2011 after putting it down for an unknown reason. 
  • Fiddlehead Mittens: These were started in December 2011.
  • Steampunkery Socks: I started these, repeatedly as I remember in April 2013. They were very advanced for my knitting ability and the pattern was confusing. The designer revamped the pattern a while back. Hopefully my knitting skills have improved because I want these socks. 
  • Cassidy Cardigan: Started October 2011. From what I remember it is nearly done. I doubt it will fit but it is nearly done. 
  • Purple Cardigan:Started November 2012. I know a lot of this is done. 
  • Barn Raising Quilt: Started July 2009. This was meant to be a long term project, but not this long. I don’t remember how many squares I have done. I know I lost interest when I saw the mitre square blanket. 
  • Posey Pin Cushion: Started August 2010. The parts are done and stuffed. It just has to be put together. 
  • Nadine Socks: Started April 2011. Nice pattern. Nice yarn. But together not so nice. 
  • Kandahar Socks: Started January 2012. Something shiny distracted me is all I can say. 
  • Round Dishcloth: Knit March 2009. It needs a seam. There is no excuse. 
  • I Love Gansey Socks: Started before August 2007. I don’t really remember them much. 
  • Pine Forest Blanket: My current work in progress started December 2016.
  • Puerperium: All knit, just needs buttons and blocking. 

For the knitting UFOs above and others I may find along the way I will either complete the project or rip it out depending on my whim at the time. By the end of 2017 all projects dated before 1/1/2017 will be completed or listed as frogged by 12/31/2017. 

Part 2 of my 17 UFOs in 2017 is going to be my house. We are living in disarray. We have too much stuff, over flowing cabinets, closets and drawers. Piles stacked in the corners. By the end of 2017 I will have cleaned out and reorganized every closet, cabinet, dresser, room and garage. In the spring the yard will be addressed. 

I plan to post my progress weekly on each of the projects I have worked on to keep myself accountable. New projects will be allowed so I can keep up with Loopy Academy and the Christmas stocking I know I have to have knit by Thanksgiving. 

Wish me luck! And are you in? Be sure to visit Meredithe’s blog to get all the info and join the fun.

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in 17ufosin2017, Knits, Knitting, Loopy Academy, self improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dithering

  1. Michelle says:

    I’m in! When you work on your Fiddlehead mittens let me know. I will work on mine too. We can have a mini knit along! I’m in on the house part too. It’s time to clear out all this clutter. Two of my kids don’t live at home anymore… I need to pack up their stuff and send it home with them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. glendajean says:

    I wish you all the luck in the world as it sounds like you will need it. Im not as committed as you but looking forward to working on my 17 UFO’s I have chosen. Cheers Glenda Australia.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer says:

    I have so many projects with yarn bought and waiting for winding. I only have two on the needles and a KAL I was supposed to start yesterday. But I also have a house in disarray. Like a kitchen I started painting in 2011 I think. Could have been 2010. So getting my kitchen painted, painting the foyer, staircase and walls, and the landing …….. then on to setting up an dyeing/surface design studio in my late husband’s stereo room, etc. Think I have enough to do until December of 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sewjourn says:

    Love your idea of organising the house as part 2 of your 17 UFOs…..maybe I should add that to mine!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    Wow! That’s a very impressive and ambitious list! But after seeing what you accomplished last year, I am confident that you will tackle all the projects on this list (and maybe even ahead of schedule!). There’s a house organizing challenge going on over at A Bowl Full of Lemons http://www.abowlfulloflemons.net/2016/12/the-2017-home-organization-challenge.html that you might be interested in too (even if just for some extra inspiration). At the moment, I can’t even find my UFO’s, much less list them out in an organized fashion – so that will be my first goal – ha! If I could tackle my office, guest room/yarn storage room, and a room in the basement by the end of this year, I would be very happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyreeves says:

    You go girl! It sounds as though you have many things on the verge of being finished, so that should give you some momentum. I, too, Need to do a thorough declutter in several parts of the house. You are right, it is time!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has several UFOs. Right now I have a men’s vest, chunky poncho, socks, Celtic scarf (big mistake but it’s too late to turn back now), and three hats.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. frayedattheedge says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing your progress reports!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. such a lovely list of knitted goodies! so looking forward to seeing how you go, and seeing how the house comes up too!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. elainesuller says:

    I am joining in ! I will do my best to work a little on each project throughout the year – my problem will be trying not to get distracted by all the new things in my ravelry queue!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. anudge says:

    I’m just shooting for progress. I”m with you about the house – too much stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: 17 UFOs in ’17: Finishing What I Started | Essays From A Dysfunctional Life

Leave a Reply

