Cast On Crazed

I have had a wicked urge to cast things on. Yes, I still have a couple of projects going including a baby sweater for a human who could arrive at any moment. The mother would like the babe to wait until after New Years Day to arrive. I’m doing my part by knitting the sweater slowly. I have deluded myself into believing that it will slow the arrival. 

Anyway there is another baby due to arrive in the spring. This is the Pine Forest Baby Blanket by Ingrid Aartun. The yarn is Feza Zara in color 108, a pale blue. The soon to be parents announced that the baby will be a boy so I used that as an excuse to cast on. I’m not 100% sure that the project is going to stick. So far I’m enjoying it but I keep thinking of other things I could be knitting for this little one. I guess I’ll just keep knitting and see what happens. 

About nothingbutknit2

I'm a wife, mother and knitter. Watch out for my pointy sticks.
This entry was posted in kids, Knits, Knitting, yarn!. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cast On Crazed

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oh cast-on-otis is bad this time of year! Nice and cold and just the time to spend with yarn. But it works in A/C too! I have Outline, Penguono, a poor ignored sock and now Painted Desert on the needles. I have to set a timer for each project. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathyreeves says:

    I have been suppressing the urge to cast on stuff….there’s some hats, mittens, dish cloths and my Peace sweater screaming at me from the sewing room…if I start, I’m afraid I’ll never finish the Skaugum sweater! Yesterday I countered by fitting DD’s Christmas skirt, and knitting on the sleeve, which is now at a much happier place. I like the timer idea Jennifer, maybe I better start a project journal……

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also am struggling with an urge to cast on. I pulled out all my WIPS and entered them into Ravelry, lined them up, and told myself I needed to finish as many as possible before the new year. It’s only working to a point. I am dying to cast on a new shawl and a sweater. The yarns are calling to me. I want them!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Renee Anne says:

    I made that blanket for one of Husband’s nieces and it took forever. It was lovely and squishy at the end, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YarnyDragonfly says:

    How funny – I thought that was a sweater when I saw it the other night! It will be a beautiful blanket. I need to make a baby present soon and am still in the dithering mode about what to make….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That blanket is beautiful. I also have a slight obsession with casting on new projects and my ravelry queue is starting to groan from being so full that it is not helping matters at all. I am determined to get through some of my WIPS this year but I know several new items will be cast on before that can happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Did slow knitting work? Did the baby wait?
    Cast-on-itis seems to be catching. I have a lovely ball of sock yarn I really want to start (a Christmas gift), and also a couple of balls from ‘the stash which must be used this year’ to make into a scarf (pattern found on Ravelry). However, I gave in and spent more on a single pattern from Purl Soho than I think I have before and really want to make that now. HELP!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

